Join our Family in Quaint Neighborhood of Washington, DC, USA

Country

United States

Favourited 42 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    13/11/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    (WITH NYC BONUS; KEEP READING)

    Experience a charming tree-lined area of the nation’s capital, flanked by Georgetown University and several embassies.

    Hi, Workawayers! We are a family of five: Mom, dad, teenage boy/girl twins, and our sweet senior dog (who sleeps all the time and acts more like a cat). Mom’s having shoulder surgery and we could use some extra hands (and shoulders!) to help out during her recovery. The timeframe we’d host would start around September 20th and last approximately 6 weeks. Opportunities for extensions may be possible.

    While Mom’s recuperating, the rest of the family will be going about their daily lives, buzzing in and out of home, work, high school, and extracurricular activities.

    When the twins have friends over, you’ll hear boisterous laughter, running up and down the stairs, and you just might be challenged to a table tennis match. Our friends and family also often stop by. Because of Mom’s shoulder, we won’t be planning anything too active. Instead, we might grill, watch a movie, play games, debate what’s going on in the world, or just hang out on the roof deck or patio. There are many opportunities for you to enjoy the great outdoors and to be active on your own or with new friends you make.

    We’re cool with introverts and extroverts, and when you aren’t helping you can feel comfortable being around us as little or as much as you want.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Cooking / shopping
    Other
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Whether this is your first time or 100th to DC, there is always something amazing to see and do.

    We’d be pleased to give guidance for making the most of your time in our city, practice English with you, share our culture, books, games, music, etc. Although we do not speak French, there are many French-speakers in our neighborhood due to the proximity of the French Embassy. Our kids study Mandarin and appreciate opportunities to try it out if you happen to be a native speaker or also are learning the language.

    Our son is on the varsity tennis team and will rally with you for fun or exercise. Dad occasionally takes his sports car to the race track if you’re interested in seeing what that’s like. We are close to professional sports venues. Hockey, baseball, basketball, and soccer...go cheer on the teams in person.

    DC has many live performance venues for music, plays, dance, and more. Each Monday, the famed Kennedy Center offers free events. Most museums are always free, being part of the Smithsonian network.

    Our family travels a lot—both domestically and internationally—-and we understand the value of getting an insider’s perspective. You’ll learn all of our tips and secrets for ensuring a great experience in the DC/MD/VA metro area.

    It’s always fascinating to swap travel adventures and dreams. We’re looking forward to hearing yours!

  • Help

    Help

    We’re looking for responsible, respectful, and caring individuals who don’t mind pitching in to tackle daily chores like dog walking, dishes, laundry, light housekeeping, and so forth; running errands, such as grocery shopping and the like; and if you’re interested and enjoy it, cooking. (If you don’t like cooking, then just helping out with a little prep so Dad can cook as soon as he gets home from work.)

    In terms of teaching, we love hearing about other cultures, hobbies, passions. If you happen to be into chemistry, mathematics, or speak Mandarin, there will be ongoing opportunities to engage with our high schoolers and share your knowledge and skills. If not, that’s okay. The most important things are helping to make daily life easier and to enjoy cultural exchange.

    We welcome any and all ways you can enrich our lives and contribute to running a smooth household. We’re open to ideas additional to those mentioned above. Help will be limited to a maximum of 5 hours total per day and your weekends will be free. We are flexible and will strive to create a schedule that works equally well for all of us. You’ll have plenty of time to explore and relax.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We live in a modern three story home plus basement. You’ll have the basement living space to yourself, about 400 sq ft. This includes a very comfortable sleeper sofa, seating area, large flat-screen TV, private bathroom with shower, and partial kitchen. There is a window to provide natural light and fresh air, but no separate entrance/exit door to the outside. You will enter/exit through our front door, which is conveniently located near the top of the basement stairs.

    We’ll provide bed linens, towels, meals and/or groceries. We are respectful of eating limitations and preferences. Main kitchen privileges, fast WiFi, as well as the use of our laundry facilities, patio, and huge rooftop deck are included with your stay. You’re also welcome to use our piano, guitar, and bike.

    We will have a list of basic house rules to share with you.

    **And here’s the bonus: If you wish to spend some time exploring New York, we can arrange a visit which would include free accommodations (and free cuddles with a dog and two cats) in a great Brooklyn neighborhood. The subway is just a few blocks away and it’s a quick ride into Manhattan. Round trip bus tickets between DC and NYC can be purchased for as little as $30-$40.**

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Restaurants, cafes, shopping, supermarkets, libraries, movie theaters, gyms, yoga studios, bike trails, public swimming pools and tennis courts, a running track, the Potomac River with water sports such as kayaking, hiking where you can spot deer and rabbits, tourist attractions/sightseeing, and public transit...ALL within walking distance! The location is truly hard to beat.

    Because we live so close to the University, you’ll see energetic college students hurrying to and fro. There are often free University events or classes that are open to the community. As aforementioned, the French embassy is very close. The Russian and German embassies are also nearby. Many others are within a 2 mile radius and they sometimes hold events that are open to the public.

    If you want experiences outside of the DC metro area, we can offer advice on wonderful day or weekend trips to beaches, mountains, and other nearby towns and cities.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Welcome Home!
Our Garden
3 Blocks to Georgetown University
Best Family Member
Roof Deck
Roof Deck Sunset
The Potomac River Nearby
Neighborhood Street
Neighborhood Shopping Street
Deer & Hiking A Block from Home
Vroom!
16th Birthday Surprise in Virginia
Professional Sports Nearby
Hello!


Host ref number: 595213261613