Interpret my life and experiences from your camera's viewpoint as you travel with me throughout Costa Rica.

Country

Costa Rica

Favourited 124 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    03/02/2020

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    832

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Pura vida! My name is Talyah and I am from the U.S. but currently reside in Costa Rica. I am developing a brand that will encompass and culminate into a reality internet show, cooking show and wellness retreats. I am a 50 year old mother of six and a "granny" to 11. I relocated to Costa Rica almost one year ago on a recon mission with the idea to develop a wellness retreat for individuals who are seeking to transform their lives through nutrition. My daughter came to visit recently for her 25th birthday and, well, she's still here! In my former life in the U.S. I was a financial services professional but am now semi retired and working on another phase of my life. This is where Workaway volunteers come in. I will need adventurous photographers/videographers to record my day to day and travel experiences. The captures will be used to build the brand, promote and market the wellness retreats, cooking show and reality internet show. You will be working with local students of cinematic production studies as well as local natives who will lend to the narrative of the local cultures and history. We will travel throughout Central America while capturing both public and personal moments and experiences. I am positioning Central America as the primary backdrop for my project because of its undeniable beauty and diverse terrains. Accommodations will vary based on location, however, most of the time will be spent in my beautiful mountain cabin in Central Costa Rica.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We will be exploring the terrains and wildlife of the Rainforest and the different cultures and subcultures of Central American countries together.

  • Help

    Help

    I am seeking one or a team of two photographers/videographers to move about Central America with me while recording my experiences. I do not require that the position be filled by a professional videographer but I would prefer that the volunteer be able to direct as needed to create and capture photo and video compositions that will translate into bold, adventurous, and sincere views of my experiences. The right team or person should be adept in one or more of the following areas..video editing, website design/development, vlogging, social media management. The perfect volunteer will be one that is comfortable with exploring and experiencing the world around them from behind the lens of his/her camera. Bilingual (English/Spanish) is a plus but not necessary.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have your own newly built cabin with full kitchen and large private bath with a hot shower. The full size bed is comfortable. There is workspace and an amazing view from from the bedroom window. I am mostly vegetarian. You are welcome to prepare your own meals or join me for meals. There are various fruit trees on my land that you are free to eat from. We will be traveling around to different regions and other Central American countries and at times we will be living in our tents. Please bring your tents and camping equipment with you. Most travel expenses whilst traveling throughout Central America are covered. There will be planned time off for you to explore on your own if you'd like.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is a host of activities near my home that are accessible by public transportation. The Chirripo Mountain, Cloudbridge Reserve, San Isidro del General are all within 10 miles. The Capital city of San Jose is 3 hours north of me and is also accessible by public transportation.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 594484721182