Spring in a popular, traditional Greek Island seaside town- Limni, Evia - help with mostly painting and some light renovations

Country

Greece

Favourited 23 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    23/08/2019

  • Badges

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello,

    My name is Madison and we live in Limni, on the Greek Island of Evia. I am originally from Australia, and speak English (native), Greek, French and now broken Spanish - it's been sooo long.
    My husband is Greek, from here and he also speaks English, he is a mechanical engineer specializing in heating and cooling systems (especially pellet burner systems - and is happy to share his knowledge with whoever is interested) and teaches this at a nearby technical school. We have a bi-lingual daughter (English and Greek) who is almost 7.
    My husband is an avid windsurfer, we both like to exercise - him usually the afternoon, me the morning.
    I love cooking and really try to do as much from scratch as possible. We eat healthy (wholesome), but we still indulge from time to time.

    We run rental rooms/apartment hotel year round and my husband is a teacher. We are looking for a some extra help painting furniture and walls of a downstairs apartment that needs some modernizing, some simple renovations, a little garden maintenance/upgrades and some repairs. 4-5 hours a day (flexible schedule according to what is going on) but primarily mornings when my daughter is at school. Ideal for a couple, two friends or an independent solo traveler. If you are creative and have some design ideas, we are open to ideas, because interior design is not my strength.

    A drivers license (manual) would be helpful but not essential. Labor skills such as tiling, electrical, interior design or landscaping would be super bonuses.

    We also have a small farm with olive trees and some fruit trees that could benefit from an extra pair of hands if someones talents are in this area. There is always something for us to do and with aging relatives and an active young child, less time to get everything done.

    We are unable to pay in $ but you would have accommodation and meals provided for and we will do our best to also share our area with you when we can. We are good cooks and cook not only Greek food but a variety of other cuisines, so fellow foodies won't be disappointed and we can teach you some Greek dishes if you want.

    Some other notes:
    A smoker would not be a deal breaker but we would ask that you smoke outside and not smoke near our child of course.
    We have 2 cats - one spends a little time indoors and the other one is a strictly outdoor cat.
    Current accommodation will be in our rental rooms, so we ask that you be tidy and respectful of noise when guests are staying.
    Depending on where you are coming from, we can collect you from Chalkida, Edipsos, Istiaia or Agiokampos (all in Evia). Or it may be possible to collect you from Athens depending on the day, schedule, etc. This can be determined via email. There are daily buses to Limni from Athens, and also Athens to Edipsos. Obviously every situation will be unique.

    Pack a couple of t'shirts and pants you don't mind getting messed up with paint.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Other
    Help in the house
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Our island seaside town, Limni, is a popular destination for people looking for an authentic feel of Greece. Although many locals speak English if you wanted to learn some Greek this will be possible too.
    Your time off could be spent at the beach and enjoying the area. The beaches in our town are mostly with pebbles, but the water is very clear and quite buoyant because of the higher levels of salt in the bay.
    The area is also surrounded by lush pine forests and loads of walking trails.
    In the Summer we normally go to the nearby town of Istiaia to do our big grocery shop and you would be welcome to join us and do your own thing for a couple of hours while we shop.
    On days where we things are not so busy we will be happy to show you a bit of our region.
    If you wanted to have a few days off and visit Athens, then Athens is 3 hours away with the bus that goes 2-3 times a day. The bus is 15 euro one way.

  • Help

    Help

    Mostly painting, improvement jobs around the house and/or some help on our farm. Not heavy labor, the farm needs some organizing, and we'd like to do a little Spring planting if we can.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Greek, French, broken Spanish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You would stay in an apartment we have in our rooms. It is a studio but equipped with a kitchenette, and bathroom of it's own. We can send photos before you arrive.
    There is decent WiFi with no limit on downloads, etc.
    We eat the main meal each day between 12.30 - 2.30pm. We would normally eat together. We also eat breakfast each day and we could either provide you with your own breakfast or you could eat with us depending on how things work for both parties. The evenings we usually just have a light snack which you could have with us or take a plate next door to enjoy by yourselves. Both food and accommodation will be included in our exchange.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Time off can be spent at the beach, windsurfing with my husband if the wind and weather permits and there are easily accessible hiking trails around the area as well. The local area has some museums, monasteries and thermal hot springs no too far away. There isn't much by way of public transport in the area except a bus service to Athens 2-3 times a day, but we live in the town, so everything is accessible by foot. We also have bicycles and helmets you are welcome to use.
    If you have your own car this of course will make things much easier for you to be able to enjoy the island to your full advantage.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 591828774828