Teach us some DIY skills in Leslie, the heart of Scotland, UK

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 29 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    07/11/2021

 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I work at a University, my partner is in operations for a tech company. We have a dog (Greyhound/Terrier mix). We moved into an old bank in May of this year (It even has the original vault, which is pretty cool). We are just a normal couple who is looking for people to help us get the house ready to meet its potential. We both never had people in our lives teach us about DIY and we are looking at an opportunity to learn some new skills so that we can bring this house back to life!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I am American and my partner, Adam, is Scottish.

    I am fluent in two different sign languages, happy to share those, I am also training as a chef part-time and happy to teach some of those tricks I have picked up! My partner is really skilled at home brewing and able to teach people how to do that as well. I am also a full-time academic. I am happy to support you in your studies, e.g. PhD, MsC students who want someone to read and give feedback on their work!

    Jet is our dog, and we often like to work with her on various training techniques. We go to a class every Sunday and then come back and practice through the week, we would welcome you to work with Jet too if it was something that you would enjoy doing!

    We also just like getting to know people, playing board games, etc. So we hope that you would feel like part of the family!

    We hope that we can learn from you as well, we are both not the handiest people and would really appreciate learning some of the skills that you have in terms of DIY, wallpapering, painting, deck building, gardening, etc.

    As far as food is concerned, we would welcome you to eat with us. On the days that you are working with us or on your own at the property then we would cover all meals! On the days that we/us are on adventures and need to eat out, we would ask that you would cover your own costs.

  • Help

    Help

    We have just moved into a house and I am looking for some help with painting and decorating, we need to get some wallpaper stripped throughout the house, and then prepare walls for painting.

    I'd love some support with some creative art projects when the time comes as well. I really want to learn furniture upcycling and need someone to show me how to do some of the DIY projects, never really had the opportunity to learn!

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    Sign language (American): Fluent
    English: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    I am fluent in English, American Sign Language and British Sign Language.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a couple of different rooms available, depending upon which room we are working on! We have a room with two singles, a room with a double bed, and a room with a super king. Each of these rooms is on the list to be stripped and painted, so people will need to shuffle around.

    As stated previously, when at home and working on the property we can cover the meals. When out and about on adventures, we would ask that you cover the costs of eating out.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live near a bunch of great walking paths and hills. So if hiking is your thing this is the place. We are near Lomond Hills, The Pilgrim Way Path, and all the amazing walks in Riverside Park. We do like going to explore the area and would welcome folks to come with us on adventures too. There are busses around here (stop in front of the house) , and lots of bike paths, so if you don't drive I would suggest having a bike that you can get around on.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have plenty of space for people who need to work as well! A small cozy library, and some desks and a big table to work on.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 589954687273