Help put the finish touches to our 16th-century castle, in the heart of the Alpes Mancelles, France

Country

France

Favourited 47 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    09/10/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    83.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 10 days

 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    In the heart of the Alpes Mancelles, 200km from Paris, Mont Saint Michel… at the border of the Pays de La Loire and Normandy, we bought an old castle dating from the 16th/ 17th, to renovate.

    The big work is "on going" by the craftmen, but many small things, both outside and inside is the next step, this summer ;-) We have 3 children and a dog, and plenty of friends and cousins in the area. We currently live in Brussels, and are very used to welcoming and sharing our family life with many different people, and love it very much. Our children travel this way… Life at home is very cheerful ;-) We spend all the time we have in our french home..

    We offer a private room & private bathroom in the chateau, wifi, good food and we hope a good company ;-)

    We are very respectful of the workaway agreement on hours 5/day 5 days/week.
    And at the same time are flexible for the schedule.

    We expect in return guests that are honest, respectful of our home and a job well done.

    Please have a look at our profile and let us know if you would like any more information and are interested in coming to stay. We'd be happy to have your help :-)

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are happy to have dinner and share time with our guests (according to everyone’s wishes). Children (10, 8 and 6 years old) are always happy to enjoy new people, and to know new life stories. This exchange is for us the opportunity to open ourselves to other cultures but also to make known and share ours. We try, once a week, to have a "family only dinner", for the children, to spend time with them in french ;-) and hope you will enjoy your peaceful evening.
    Our house is welcoming and allows new encounters in a beautiful and warm environment.

  • Help

    Help

    The interior works will be rather of the paint, coated, renovation of the windows.
    The exterior works will be focused on the maintenance of the park, removal of ivy, and possible renovation of the greenhouse ;-)
    We appreciate helpers that pay attention to details and do whatever they are doing with care.
    Reliability, honesty and a good attitude are the most important requirements.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Each guest will have his room and we will do our best for his bathroom in the room. The house has 12 rooms (currently being renovated), the beds are new and comfortable.
    The kitchen will be brand new and free to accommodate any kind of gastronomy ;-) We are ourselves very good living...
    If needed, we can let your an old 4/4 range rover for visiting the area..

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The castle is in a village of 700 inhabitants, in a park of 15 hectares. We are located a few km from several very tourist places (saint ceneri le gerei, St Leonard des bois) with sports activities, hiking. At the gates of Normandy, many sites are worth visiting, such as Mont St Michel, the landing beaches, the castles of the Loire. We will be there to guide you, the right addresses are shared;-)
    Summer is also a good time for the village festivities very appreciated by our families, and our friends... We organize them even at home ;-)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 588587555912