Share life on the stunning Azores in Portugal



Favourited 123 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    83.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Good Host

 Min stay requested: at least a week

  • Description


    Hi there,We are Fritz(60 and Swiss),Jane(55 and Scottish) .We live on the island of Sao Miguel on the Azores in a village called Ginetes. Due to Fritz´s health issues and Jane's family commitments we welcome extra help on our relatively large piece of land in exchange for the chance to experience life in a typical Azorean coastal village(population around 1,300).We have space for single people or a couple.The type of work we offer is variable and ultimately the choice is yours.Ideally we would love help to make our home more eco-friendly so anyone with experience with solar panels(we have one needing fixed) or building eco- toilets is more than welcome but we have plenty of other work needing done such as" rediscovering "our vegetable garden/repair of sheds and minor renovations around our house i.e.painting and varnishing, fixing things etc.We are also interested if you are someone who prefers cooking and cleaning and sewing etc.We would like you to work 25 hours a week in exchange for food and board . We have a caravan and you can sleep there or in the house but we all share the same toilet and shower and we all share in keeping the communal areas clean and tidy .
    You have 2 days off per week . There is pretty regular bus service, bike and car hire available or you can borrow our fold-up bike . There are loads of activities available such as whale watching, snorkelling,diving,fishing,horse-riding,para-gliding,climbing ,canoeing, mountain trails etc.Alternatively you can relax in the thermal pools at Furnas or at low tide you can have a hot sea bath in "Ferraria" which is here in our village of Ginetes .We are fairly flexible people but we would ask that you refrain from using drugs or drinking while with us (we have personal reasons for this).If you need to smoke then please do so outside only.Other than that we are happy to welcome anyone who wants to come and share in our family life and with our animals .We have 3 dogs,3 cats and 2 goats and a horse For anyone interested in improving there language skills we are a trilingual family(Swiss German,English and Portuguese).Please don't hesitate to get in touch if you have further questions.

    Ps. At this Moment (Jan. 2020) we need a Man who has experience in fencing, building, gardening, renovating old sheds etc. Winter is sometimes tough here , a lot of wind rain etc.!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Animal Care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Life on the Azores is relatively simple and where we live you are very much in touch with nature.It is a nice place to come and relax and learn to" just be" though having said that there is so much going on here in the summer.Like the village parties,folklore groups and "summer nights" street parties in the main town of Ponta Delgada and various open air concerts that there should be something for most tastes.You can pick up or improve your Portuguese or practise English or German with us.There are a few places of historical interest and of scientific interest too especially if volcanos interest you.The Azores are ideal for whale watching and diving and you can learn a great deal from the local tourist guides about the marine life and flora.

  • Help


    As mentioned above we welcome various types of help but the main work just now would be outside getting the vegetable garden going again, fixing fences and sheds, painting inside and outside and fixing gates .Specific skills such as fixing our solar panel/building a yurt or tipi and building an eco-toilet would be very welcome too but as I say there is always something we need help with and so housework is fine too.You are also welcome to share in walking the dogs Bruce a 3 year old labrador,Dixie15 and Rosie 12 if that is your thing or even help with sewing and mending.We value all types of help .

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Portuguese: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    We have a spare room in our big wooden house and also a caravan on our land but we all share the same toilet and shower, kitchen and dining room in the main house.We have WIFI ,washing machine and cook with gas.We will buy the food and try to take any special dietary needs into consideration.We eat more or less everything including meat but were vegetarians for years and tend to keep it simple. We also have a slow juicer and try to eat plenty of raw foods. We would prefer to take turns at cooking and washing up and to eat together but if you prefer to cook for yourself that is fine too as long as you clean up afterwords.We have a filter on our drinking water tap.Unfortunately we haven't a vegetable garden at present but we like to go most weeks to the farmer's market in the city and have a well stocked local shop.We try to eat organic foods as much as possible but cannot guarantee it all the time.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    As mentioned above we live near the sea and at low tide (twice a day) the sea water heats to nearly 40 degrees C and it is an amazing experience to sit or float in hot sea water.The Azores are sub-tropical volcanic islands so offer plenty in the way of thermal pools and waterfalls too. You can even cook in potholes in certain places and enjoy the lush vegetation or the mountain trails. See my introduction for list of activities available. Jane works with horses and takes people out trekking along the volcanic crater of Sete Cidades.Fritz is a hobby artist . We have had various people come and stay with us over the years and they all seemed to love being on the Azores as it really is quite special and different from mainland Portugal. We have a car and can pick you up from the local airport which is the only way to get here in( unless you happen to be sailing the Atlantic!) We are happy to show you around or help hire a car/bike / motorbike or get you bus -timetables. The island is pretty well covered by 3 bus companies.We are about 25 km from the main town of Ponta Delgada where you will arrive.We have a pretty well stocked mini-market ,a pharmacy and few coffee shops in Ginetes and the bus ride to Ponta Delgada where all the main facilities and shops are just takes 45 mins. We go there with the car at least twice a week so you are welcome to a lift .

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 588271436829