updated  

Wild Horse Training Program on the Snowy River NSW, Australia

  • Favourited 119 times
  • Last activity: 20 Jun 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    We run a wild horse training program and have over 30 brumbies here with us being guides through from wild to domestic. We live on the Snowy River 1000 acres of bushland. We live in a modest but happy and comfortable shed / house and have a small studio attached with a cosy bed for visitors to stay. We welcome workaway guests to come for 5 days and complete a project at our wild horse training bushland home. You may want to complete a fence line, or redo our vegie patch, or you may have skills in building and maintenance to help with repairs of our old shearing shed. Many of our workaway guests have stayed on past the 5 days as guests to our home and become life long friends. For more information please send us a message. Please note we live in a remote area and your own transport will be needed for you to come and stay.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    They will learn about life in the Australian mountains and working with the famous brumby horses that Banjo Patterson wrote his poem 'The Man From Snowy River.'

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    Farm skills such as animal management, fencing and weed spraying are desired but not necessary. If you do not know how to work with horses we can train you. General maintenance skills such as gardening, small repairs and cleaning will be appreciated.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A studio is available with a bed in it. The studio is also where we hold our horse equipment but is quiet and warm with a wood fire too. There is a toilet next to it, plus use of the main house right next door. In the main house it has a big kitchen, lounge area, TV and also unlimited internet connection.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    In your time off we can take you riding horses or you can visit the alpine mountain areas in our local national park. If you have a drivers license and over 25 years of age we can offer you occasional use of our 4 wheel drive. Or we are happy to take you out with us into town and on adventures.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 583717965157

Feedback (1)

Photos

Feedback


Housekeeping and Mothers Helper in Brisbane, Australia
Beautiful house in tree filled suburb in South Caringbah, Australia