Help Develop Permaculture Food Forest / Forest Garden Near Ithaca NY Finger Lakes Region, USA

Country

United States

updated  

Favourited 174 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    6  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    09/08/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    81.8 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 13 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I am a young guy practicing permaculture, living with my mom who is an artist working as a graphic designer. we also live with one medium sized dog and a cat. we live in an old 1800's farm house near Ithaca NY (one of the oldest houses in the area).

    I am working with the 2 acre property developing a food forest/forest garden, and hope someday to do this with a community of people and not need to use much money; being able to grow all the food we eat and make most of the things we use. so im interested in a bunch of different age old skills, ive started with permaculture (which is not actually a new thing, just a modern extrapolation of a lifestyle from a society much older than agriculture, known today as horticultural societies) and wood working; so i have the most authority in these now (you might have more than me, i say "most" relative to myself, but im still pretty new and i will always welcome teachers) then other things im interested in (and again welcome teachers) are blacksmithing (particularly tool making), leather working, fibre works and weaving, pottery, building houses (timber framing, log building, cob, waddle and daub).
    I am also in a musical band of my comrades; i play guitar and write songs and sing.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Language practice
    Art project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    i can teach you about many of the plant species on the property (actually this would be quite important for you to learn during the sessions so you can recognize which species can be weeded and used as green mulch and which ones are more precious still getting established for now), also about some of the forest gardening techniques and strategies im experimenting with.
    i can also teach how to carve spoons and use some different hand tools for woodworking.
    also i created a language i can teach you that, and ive written many songs i can teach you those :) and in general we can play music together (im not very good at jamming improve but i can learn songs).

  • Help

    Help

    Help developing and maintaining the food forest and gardens (digging, weeding, chop and drop, sheet mulching, planting, and hopefully harvest):
    Over the last five years i have planted many fruiting trees and shrubs as well as introducing some edible and useful perennial herbaceous species that i hope to have fill out and naturalize on the property. There is still some room left for more tree species to be planted but most of the work now will be introducing and helping more herbaceous plants take over, as well as creating more intentional gardens, and intercropping annual vegetables as a way to get the most harvest while the perennials are still maturing.
    it is already a very fertile plot that started mid way through succession to forest as a dense thicket, and ive already cut/dug out and recycled most of the young trees and shrubs that i intended to replace with fruiting ones, but there are still many species of herbs naturalized here that i did not plant, many of whom i am interested in keeping on the property, but i want to continue diversifying so the majority of their populations will eventually have to be killed, but for now they will continue to add fertility to the soil and be useful for chop and drop as well as marginal harvest.

    I also have plans for a few natural building projects (crude timber frame and cob) im no expert at this method of building but i enjoy what im doing and learning, if you have any experience with this you are super welcome to teach me some things); depending on what resources are available and what is priority at the time you may help with this.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have your own room.
    you can eat meals with us and if you are vegetarian or vegan we can adjust to that. and help in the kitchen is welcome.
    i can show you around the area i dont have a car or a lisense so im little use in that way but we may be able to cycle together, or at least walk which are my favorite methods of transportation anyway, also there is a bus line that runs several times daily by our house and it goes to cornell and downtown, but then there are other buses you can transfer to from there.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Ithaca is an interesting town with a large music, theatre, and art scene relative to its size.
    there are lots of state parks around and many gorges and waterfalls. there are fishing and swimming holes and a beautiful public forest down the road within walking distance.
    we also have to big universities in our midst; the ivy league cornell and the more modest ithaca college, so if your interested in scholarly talks or hanging around campuses that is a possibility.
    also this region is one of the largest wine producing regions in the eastern united states; if your interested in that kind of thing, i probably wouldnt go with you though.
    if my band is playing any shows you can come, and if we play out of town we can bring you with us.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Our house in 4 seasons of the same year (2016).
A spring morning and fall evening; sunflowers in front of our house; and mushroom totem logs in deep snow.
3 seasons of our front-of-house garden (April 2018-May 2019)
3 seasons of trellis (March 2016-May 2019)
A 3 year building project (so far) from 3 different angles (2016-2019).
4 seasons (2016): 1st 2 of different sides of the property; 3rd of my tent on a platform above our char pit.; and 4th is of my building project with the char pit and platform in the background.
3 years later comparison in 2 spots (mushroom yard & raised bed gardens: 2016-2019)
4 seasons (2016): 1st 2 of our compost bin (which is no longer a compost bin); and 2nd 2 of a painted tarp made by my dear friend (R.I.P. Jack).
Future chicken run/coop.
Early spring garden.
Evaporating maple sap in early spring.
Greens in greenhouse.
Potatoes in boxes.
The entrance to our yard.
Maverick the cat!



Host ref number: 583527512194