Restoring of farmhouses and mountain cabin in Hardanger Fjord, Norway

Country

Norway

Favourited 83 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    21/01/2022

 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We live on a farm on the west coast of Norway. The farm is located app 4,5 km from the Hardanger Fjord, surrounded by mountains. This area is a wellknown tourist destination in the summertime, with exeptional opportunities for hiking and wildlife adventures. You can also get to the Folgefonna Glacier from here.

    We are a family of 5, and we moved back "home" to the village in 2014 (the farm has been in the family for many years). We used to live in Bergen, and we have also travelled and lived in other countries before we had kids. We have 2 boys - 4 and 8 years old.

    Our farmland is leased by another local farmer. At the moment we have 3 pigs, 2 alpacas, 3 sheep and some chickens :-) 6 more alpacas coming this summer.

    We are looking for someone who can help us restore our barn so we can use it for more animals (one part has not been used for many years) So this will include throwing out a lot of old stuff, cleaning, carpenting (repairing walls outside) and making a new floor.

    We also want to restore a small cabin up in the mountains from here. This will include sleeping in a tent for some nights, hiking, fishing and relaxing - and spending some hours working on this cabin (carpenting).

    We also need help for general maintenance ,gardening, some housekeeping and looking after kids :)

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    Animal Care

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Stay in beautiful surroundings and experience the nature in our area! Take part in Norwegian daily life and learn about our culture!

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    Carpentry, restoring old buildings, painting, gardening, animalcare, household

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Norwegian: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Own room in mainhouse. Own bathroom.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    If you love hiking, wildlife and outdoor living - this is a great way to explore the west coast of Norway. During spring/summer it is a lot of tourist and "happenings" in the area, making up for a rather quiet winter season ;-) You can easily get to Bergen by boat - takes 2 hours one way.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 583111124384