Come and help around the home and garden near Veliko Tarnovo, Bulgaria

  • Favourited 116 times
  • Last activity: 27 Feb 2024



 Min stay requested: No minimum



  • Description


    ***UPDATE*** we are in the process of moving to a new house and cannot accept workawayers right now, but once we have fully moved and have the guest space set up we will update our profile with new pictures and availability!

    Hi! We are Halley and Gena, a young couple who moved to Bulgaria in 2021 after being Digital Nomads for a few years. We are living in a village near Veliko Tarnovo, the medieval capital of Bulgaria. We have a big house with extra rooms and a big garden so we thought it would be nice to share the space with some travelers who want to experience the peaceful village life. We have a lot of projects in mind but Gena is still recovering from surgery on his back so we could use an extra set of hands. We were both Workawayers ourselves in several places when we were traveling and now that we have our own place we want to be the kind of hosts we wish we'd had!

    About us:
    Halley studied Peace Education and spent several years volunteering with CISV. She is a freelance Voice-Over Actress and Audio editor. She loves doing any kind of art (knitting, painting, henna, photography, etc) and is especially interested in herbalism and gardening.

    Gena is an engineer and spent several years working on organic farms. He is an Audio Editor, Stock Trader, and long-distance trail runner. He loves playing chess and doing yoga.

    We are both vaccinated.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are pretty chill people and since the pandemic (and moving around a lot) we haven't had much of a social life so we would love to meet new people and share what we have and what we've learned! We are also eager to learn from you :)

  • Help


    We just need some help around the house each day- cleaning the house, gardening, composting, and helping Gena to lift/carry things. We have just started preparing the garden for the season and would love some help with that.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    We are both trying to learn Bulgarian and our primary language is English. If you want to improve your English we are very patient, understanding, and non-judgmental- Gena learned English just a few years ago and is now fluent, and Halley was an English teacher before.

  • Accommodation


    You will have a private room with a double bed and a wardrobe. Common areas include the kitchen, living room, garden, patio, terrace, and two bathrooms. We will provide food and you can choose if you want to cook for yourself or eat together. We are not vegetarian.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live close to the beautiful city of Veliko Tarnovo, which has so much to explore- including a river and hills, old fortresses and archeological sites, a major university, and lots of shops and restaurants. The bus from the village takes about 10 minutes and goes multiple times a day. The village we are in has about 600 people and a shop with necessities, and there are lots of fields around with walking paths.

    Please note: We have no tolerance for racism, sexism, homophobia, or people who think the pandemic is a conspiracy.

    As a Voice Over artist, I need to stay healthy to be able to work. If you are or have recently been sick we cannot host you, and if you become sick while you are with us we will have to ask you to leave.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have fiber optic internet and can host digital nomads.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 754744866551

Feedback (3)



These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (4.7)

Way to sustainable life in beautiful Sushitsa, Bulgaria
Looking for home mates who can petsit when I'm travelling :) Byala Slatina , Bulgaria