Experience living off-grid and practice permaculture in Catalunia, Spain




Favourited 567 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Top Host

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

  • Description


    My husband and I have lived in this beautiful area of Catalunia for 20 years. We harvest olives almonds and carobs on 2 organic farms. We have 7dogs 2 cats, ducks , chickens and 1 pig and 8goats. We are approx 4kms from the nearest village of Xerta which is in the Ebro valley alongside the fantastic river Ebro. We live off grid but have a solar system which provides us with power, English TV and Wi Fi. We are also close to the "Via Verde" which is a cycle track of over aprox 100kms. We have a pool which will prove refreshing after day. If you enjoy walking climbing or just peace and quiet then this is the place to be. We ask that helpers communicate and reply either way when first making contact. The work during the spring summer months involves animal care, wood cutting and general help on the farm inc some gardening and small construction projects. We also milk our goats and produce cheese which we could teach you.We produce olive oil and cheese for our own consumption.We are unfortunately unable to host vegan volunteers.We also foster puppies for the local dogs home so there are always lots of dogs around.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We live off grid and pratice permaculture. 99 percent of our waste is recycled. Water is limited so showers are every other day and we try to live in an eco friendy way.

  • Help


    We need help to keep on top of things on both farms especially in the harvest season, but we have building projects too, and our ever increasing animal population take a lot of our time and energy. Currently we need help with painting inside and out, clearing the land ready for harvest (strimming etc) pruning trees and cutting wood, harvesting carobs and almonds and later in November olives, as well as everyday care of our animals.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate

  • Accommodation


    Our house can accommodate up to 3 extra people with one en suite room with a dble and single and an other with a double bed with toilet and sink.Transport can be arranged to and fro to the village or town of Tortosa or you can use the bikes we have if your the energetic sort.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Flights into Reus airport approx an hours drive or Barcelona 2 hours away by train, make your way to Tortosa and we will pick you up from the station. There are many cycle tracks and walks in the area and climbing too if you want. Or you can relax by the pool in your spare time. Xerta is a quaint village with fiestas and several bars and Tortosa our main city has a vibrant night life.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4/5 hours max per day (max 25 hours/week)

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.8)

Communication: (4.9)

Host ref number: 581844913585