Learn about eco-construction and help in my veggie garden in remote Ullastret, Spain

Country

Spain

new host  

Favourited 33 times


  • rating

    Host rating

    Not yet rated
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    10/05/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    87.5 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 5 days

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello travellers out there!

    About myself:
    I love my life, in this quite and peaceful bit of land. Hidden between a tiny hill and endless fields, in the middle of no-where. My parents found it now 32 years ago, and I've been grown up here.
    After many years of traveling overseas and in Europe (by bike, couch-surfing, wwoofing, helping in other projects, growing and collecting inspirations...), I eventually came back to settle down here in this little paradise. I realized, this region has so much to offer! The sea and the mountains. Deep forests and cliffs.
    So here I am again. Creating my own paradise now.

    I live in a wooden hut, with solar panels and water from our own well. The shower is in the garden (with just cold water), the toilet is in the woods. I sleep in a wooden gipsy-caravan and there's a little wooden hut for our guests.
    Last year (2020) we started a COB-construction on site. We are currently building a new room attached to the wooden house. A new kitchen made with mud-and-hay walls! It's so beautiful to build with your own hands and with such natural materials! Soon we'll start with the plastering of the cob walls (around May 2021).

    I try to live a simple life, connected to the presence and nature. I run a little vegetarian/vegan and organic café in the nearest town and I sometimes organize events and other creative projects.

    I love gardening! Collecting seeds and sowing them. Harvesting and eating. Preserving the harvest, handcrafting and creating. I'm a creative and enthusiastic Vegan and Raw food cook and love sharing my food and spoiling my guests! ;p

    The land we live on is quite big and we want to transform it into a wonderful and magic garden! With abundance of food, flowers and bees!
    The land is divided into a few terraces, with ancient and abandoned olive trees.

    I would love to share this place with travellers, nature-enthusiasts and let's-do-it-people!
    Those out there, who are willing to help with some work building, in the garden and around the house, will enjoy wonderful organic and vegan food, dis-connection in nature, skillsharing and all of it in a privileged area!

    We live surrounded by medieval villages within walking distance. I also have bicycles I can lend out to discover the region. We live in the outskirts of our village, just a 15 minutes walk away from the little medieval village. Where you will also find a pretty interesting iberian excavation site! Worth seeing! :)

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will be able to dive into a beautiful nature-connected lifestyle, close to nature and its cycles. We share everything with you. Our lifestyle, food, stories, culture, the gardens and spaces we created. You will be able to dis-connect and enjoy a peaceful surrounding, great and vital food, and learn while being active and a part of it all!
    We can share our knowledge in organic gardening (in harmony with the cosmic influences and permaculture thoughts), vegan food and vital rawfood, languages (I speak german, catalan, spanish, swedish, english and a bit of french, handcrafts (I love knitting!), creative projects, COB building...
    As we live in the heart of Catalunya, you'll be able to get to know this interesting culture more. This is a really cultural area with many beautiful things going on! Organic markets, antique markets, food and events, historical villages and the sea, water sports and hiking routes....
    This region has soo much to offer! And our land and homestay too!! ;)

  • Help

    Help

    Hey travellers and 'workawayers' out there!

    I'm currently WELCOMING SOME HELPING HANDS for a
    COB-construction and the maintenance of my veggie gardens.

    Last year we started building a 10m2 new kitchen with COB-walls (mud and hay mixture), The winter came and we paused the project.
    Now we want to keep on getting our hands muddy! Finishing off the walls and adding the next layer of finer mud plaster.

    As spring is slowly awakening too, we also have a lot to do in the veggie gardens and fruit tree orchard.
    Sowing, maintenance , mulching, weeding, mowing...

    We are especially looking for people skilled in woodwork and with some building experience! As we need to build and repair infrastructure. Also those interested in gardening and permaculture :)
    Motivated and enthusiastic people are super welcome! :)

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    Catalan: Fluent
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    Swedish: Intermediate
    French: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    I love languages! :D I lived a couple of years in Sweden (there I studied organic growing) and I always get really excited when I can talk Swedish with someone and improve my language skills with native speakers! :) I am currently learning french -mostly using Duolingo ;) but practicing with some french people would be lovely!

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We can accommodate 1 or 2 travellers (wo don't mind sharing a double bed) in a little and cosy wooden hut. The hut is on the second terrace of our olive tree land. Among trees and singing birds. The hut has no water nor electricity, but there are a few battery run fairy lights for extra cosyness! :) We share all the meals in our garden or when the weather is colder (or it rains) in our living room in the bigger wooden hut. We don't have much electricity (as we produce our own with solar panels), but you can charge any electronic devices (such as your phone, laptop..) in the bigger hut. We can provide you with blankets, sheets and towels!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are a bit of-grid, but there is ONE bus line from the nearest town La Bisbal (or from Torroella de Montgrí) that can bring you to Ullastret. The actual timetable can be found on the SARFA webpage. We can also pick you up from the bus station in Vulpellac (if you travel from Girona by bus)...

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Our land is big and offers beautiful corners for those travelling with their own vehicles or nomadic homes. You can stay on site in a safe surrounding and enjoy the garden around! :)

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    We have a very sweet dog- Maya, and a wild cat- Tjarna. If you are traveling with your own pet and it respects other 'host'-pets and the plants and garden paths around, then I welcome you! :)

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 581473358172