Help us develop a community tourism project in Sabah, Borneo Malaysia



Favourited 97 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends


  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

  • Description


    We are a family of 3 and community of 100 living in a small village called Bawang Jamal at the Northern tip of Borneo! I, Krystle, am from New Zealand, my husband, Ryne, is local Rungus and together we have an 8 month old daughter, Lola. We are working towards developing a community based tourism hub that promotes training, skills, employment and development within the community. While our aim is to train and employ within the community, we love having volunteers to share their experience, bring fresh ideas and inspiration and provide a 'tourist point of view'. Your time with us would include being involved in a range of activities depending on your skills and preferences. Whether you want to help build, garden, hang out with the local children developing English, promote environmental awareness, or engage in skill development, we are more than happy just to have you on board. We have a modest but beautiful little village house surrounded by rice padis, coconut trees and just 5 minutes walk from the ocean. There are a handful of cafes and restaurants in the area, bicycles available, scooters for rent and more than anything an amazing cultural experience living and working within our Rungus community. We have electricity but bucket showers, live mostly off our land or the local markets, eat lots of fish and rice but can cater for vegetarians. I started as a volunteer here myself so I do my best to make sure your experience is as worthwhile as my own was.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Helping with Tourists
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Our village consists of approximately 100 people from the Rungus tribe that all belong to one family. The community works together, socialises together and lives together in a subsistence culture. Fishing and gardening are their main sources of food, income & livelihood. They hold strong cultural values and are predominantly Christian. We hope that by staying and working with our family you have the opportunity to experience and enjoy a new culture and lifestyle!

  • Help


    We would love people with experience in building, gardening, landscaping, or tourism and hospitality. We are currently building a chalet which involves cutting trees, building, joinery, landscaping etc.
    We areally entering harvest so picking rice padi and gardening work is welcomed, developing and implementing environmental awareness /practices, beach clean ups, spending time with the children and promoting english, skill development with our local employees.
    We are always looking for people who just want to get involved and do what they can to help within the village.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Bahasa Malay, Rungus

  • Accommodation


    Current accommodation is a private bedroom in our family home with mattress, linen and mosquito net. You're welcome to join us for meals or use our facilities to cook your own, or a mix of both.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We have bicycles available for you to use as you please to get around Simpang Mengayau (the area we live in), we also travel into town (Kudat, 20km) almost daily so you're welcome to jump in! The capital city of Sabah is Kota Kinabalu which is 3 hours drive away and an easy, cheap bus ride. Sabah is an amazing place filled with jungles, beaches and cultural experiences so we encourage you to use your days off to explore as much as possible! We are happy to assist with bookings and transport where possible!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 579965318186