Looking for a couple to help in the house & garden of an English country home in Dorset UK (& teach 3 kids a bit of French!)

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 20 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    21/07/2019

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family of 5 in the UK that have recently moved to an old farmhouse on the Dorset/Somerset border looking out over the Blackmore Vale but only 5minutes from the town Wincanton. We have 3 lovely children William - 8, Arabella 7 and Oliver 4 and 2 well trained black labradors called Inca & Zulu. We are in a beautifully peaceful spot with a large garden, lake, tennis court, swimming pool & footpaths taking you for walks in all directions.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Come and live in a beautifully lush and rural part of the English countryside with a very traditional English family and a friendly local community. Learn English from us if you are keen to. Enjoy many wonderful local places to visit such as Stonehenge (the most famous prehistoric structure in Europe), the stunning gardens of Stourhead, Sherborne Abbey and the leading international art gallery Hauser & Wirth Somerset in the beautiful town of Bruton.

    We are always happy to help - tell you about the area, show you where & how to go. Learn any other life skills from us that you can! My husband Rupert is very practical/hardworking/enjoys gardening/was in the army/commutes daily to Hampshire&London. I (Nina) was a designer and love cooking, painting, interiors, travel and I run a small children's nightwear business from home.

  • Help

    Help

    We are ideally looking for a couple (mature in age or attitude) over the age of 25, to live in a separate cottage within our grounds and to both generally help out for 2hrs every day (or 2.5hrs only on weekdays) with whatever needs doing! Housekeeping, cleaning, ironing, occasional cooking (only if you enjoy it!), possible childcare & helping us all (mostly children) to learn French, occasional school run, occasional babysitting/house sitting, gardening, mowing, general maintenance etc!!

    This is not a paid position and only the occasional family meals provided but live independently in your own cottage (attached to our stables) and have time to do your own thing or find other local work*️️️. We are surrounded by lush green fields and dairy farms but Wincanton is a 5 min drive, Sherborne a 17min drive, Shaftesbury a 20min drive, Yeovil a 30min drive and Bath a 45min drive.

    *️️️Possiblity of extra paid work on special projects in the garden or in the home

    The ideal couple will be..
    - Trustworthy, discreet and reliable.
    - Enjoy the company of (mostly well behaved) happy and inquisitive young children.
    - Speak French. At least one of you can speak good basic English & happy to teach us (mostly the children) French. The Daddy Rupert can speak quite good French!
    - Physically fit, neat and tidy and good at cleaning to a high standard and helpful if one of you interested in gardening or good with machinery/mowing
    - Have a relaxed 'can do' attitude, enjoy a challenge and with good initiative.
    - Enjoy the countryside and living in a quiet rural location.
    - Have your own car or over 25 with a clean licence

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English and one of us ok French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Your own separate cottage. Walk straight into a good size sitting room. It is open plan so there is a small kitchen area with breakfast bar and a dining area. There is a good size bedroom through a doorway to the left.. with double bed and fitted cupboards and a small bathroom with a shower through a doorway on the right. Washing machine and basic utensils included so you can be self sufficient- buy and cook your own food! Supermarkets 5mins away. But we live just next door (on the other side of 3 empty stables) so will ask you to come for the occasional meal!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    With your time off discover the wonderful West Country of England, Dorset, Devon & Cornwall with it's stunning coast line, beautiful beaches. We are just 5 minutes from the main road A303 which takes you West or east up to London. The train stations Gillingham & TempleCombe are 10/15min drive with good links to London & SouthWest.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    2hrs per day, 7 day week (flexible)

Host ref number: 578688528355