Join our family in Queensland for a fantastic Australian adventure

Country

Australia

Favourited 14 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    07/11/2018

 
Join now to contact this host
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Are you looking for work experience on a little farm in the country?
    Open spaces, get back to nature, clean fresh water, collect eggs from the chickens and vegetables from the vegetable garden, yet close enough to take advantage of the facilities in the lovely town of Toowoomba.
    If this sounds like something that you are interested experiencing then you may want to find out more.

    We're looking for someone/ a couple to help out with the garden, general farm maintenance and house cleaning for 3 hours a day each in exchange for free accommodation- in a lovely newly renovated caravan- plus other benefits. You also get your own bathroom, internet, use of the pool- when it's warm enough- and more.

    We have car parking spaces if you have a car otherwise we may be able to arrange return transport into Toowoomba monday to friday if you would like to work/ study in town.

    You must love children and dogs to stay with us as we have 4 dogs, a fantastic toddler and a baby on the way. Stays longer than 6 months are preferable and anyone with garden experience would have an advantage. Overall we're looking for someone whos considerate with a sense of pride and initiative, who learns quickly and can work well in a team.
    Smokers will not be accepted as we aim to live a healthy and active lifestyle that is an example to others.
    This opportunity is starting in August 2015.

    We're very much looking forward to enjoying this experience with you so send me an email with your questions and your application and we can go from there.
    Thanks :-)

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Help

    Help

    We live on a farm so along with household duties and looking after the baby there are many things that you may be able to help with and learn about. Overall we all share the duties as if you were part of the family so there are many things you will not need to do.

    Household duties may include: doing some cooking, washing dishes, emptying the dishwasher, hanging the laundry, giving Beth her lessons, playing and teaching Beth, changing her nappy, listening out for her wake up cry if she's asleep and we need to do something, moping the floor, cleaning the bathroom, wiping the benches and dining room table, setting the table, cleaning the windows, sweeping, taking out he rubbish, tidying the house, etc.

    Outside duties may include:watering the garden, taking out the rubbish, turning the compost heap, planting seeds and seedlings, picking vegetables to eat, adding fertiliser/ compost to the garden, mowing the lawn, playing with the dogs, taking the dogs for a walk, feeding the chicks and other poultry that we may have, fixing shade cloth or fencing, cleaning the pool, etc.

    Other duties: if we go camping/ on holiday/ on an excursion you are welcome to join us and in return we'd enjoy general help with Beth/ the dogs/ the camp site/ the food, etc.

    We are happy for you to also work elsewhere if you would like to get some extra money. There are many other farms in the area so during the right season there are picking and packing jobs available. Due to our location between Toowoomba and Warwick you have a large range of other job opportunities in the local areas.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a 4 bedroom Queenslander house with 2 bathrooms. You would use our newly renovated caravan and the downstairs bathroom with access to other facilities.
    When we take the caravan away you can use the lovely spare room with queen size bed in the house.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Things that you can do include : bike riding, swim in the pool, go for a walk, visit the local towns/ villages and sights, go to local markets, watch movies, play board games, play Wii or Xbox, learn the keyboard, read the many books we have, you can have your own garden patch if you want to learn about gardening, use the sports equipment, join some of the local sports teams, go fishing in the creek, use the kayaks, play golf, learn to shoot, ride the motorbike, use the gym equipment

    There are many things to do in the area: there is a range of dams to visit, hiking in the area like Table Top and Picnic Point, cycling routes down the Range, visit the wineries at Stanthorpe and so much more.

    Transport- it is probably best for you to have your own vehicle as we live 30 minutes out of town but if not we can arrange to take you into Toowoomba when we go in. Brent goes in daily on Monday to Friday.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    3 hours a day, 6 days a week

Host ref number: 576574423613