Community Arts & Healthy Living in the Lake District, UK

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 1117 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    49  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    02/12/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I live in the Lake District 3m from Kendal, a bus journey from mountains & lakes. I work on Arts projects at Festivals and create Carnival Structures for our local Carnival. I work in Schools & colleges and my Well Being work takes me into groups for people who may be affected by Cancer, Alzheimers, Mental Health issues, Anxiety, & Homelessness. I work with groups of vulnerable people, therefore a good level of English is required as is self motivation and life experience. We are entering our 2nd covid winter and the groups have not really got started up again and most projects are in the winter, it is quiet here at the moment. I enjoy vegan, vegetarian and most healthy cooking options. I work towards a positive exchange experience so that we all enjoy learning from one another. This is more achievable when there is a cultural exchange with volunteers from outside the U.K. We work hard, volunteers find it enjoyable and rewarding, we have a flexible timetable depending on projects and demands. We welcome genuine workaways who are travelling, we are not a stepping stone for moving to the Lake District. We can’t accommodate dogs, we’re surrounded by sheep and have 3 cats who live happily here. We always require cooking and looking after the home & cats.

    Donna
    😊X

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Gardening
    Animal Care
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Learn about working as an artist and local life in the Lake District. See the beauty of the stunning lakes and mountains.

  • Help

    Help

    Nov/Dec:-
    Help with Apple computer, iPhone, iCloud & web content & social media, all things technology.

    Healthy cooking & healthy living, exercise & yoga.

    Help with shopping, cleaning and organising. As I have no art projects running, I’m focused on marketing and creating work.

    Thank you😊

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A lovely room in our house in the countryside or a park up if you have a camper van.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Hillwalking, camping, swimming and local pubs and live music sessions in local pubs.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    I have a beautiful flat park up in the countryside for your campervan if this is how you are traveling you are welcome.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hrs a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.9)

Communication: (4.9)












































Host ref number: 574224588326