Help us create our dream food forest with our family in Galicia, Spain

  • Favourited 61 times
  • Last activity: 18 Feb 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    This is Pedrosa. a small abandoned village we bought in order to live in it happily, make it habitable and aspiring sustainable, with emphasis on reforesting ideas and mentality. last year we gave birth to our beautiful baby Lev so now we are three in total. We live in a yurt and have a separate kitchen wood cabin, compost toilet and outside shower with hot water.
    Pedrosa is a magical, quiet place, packed with fruit trees and surrounded by forest, bordering rivers and tiny villages. if you like being immersed in nature, this is the place for you.
    there's tons to do around the land, managing and shaping it, and taking care of it. while always enjoying it. we invite you happily to enjoy it with us, Shira and Don.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
  • UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We live in a beautiful remote abandoned village in south of Galicia, bordering Portugal. hikes and walks in the area are amazing, the local people (our neighbours) are inviting and friendly. you can experience here gallego farm life culture, with many aspects of the culture unchanged for as long as remembered. we enjoy exchanging and enriching knowledge from different places about foresting, gardening, biodiversity, sintropical agroforestry, eco building and carpentry, mycology or whatever yet experienced!

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    Since we extended our family and had a baby, we find ourselves with a lot of motivation for our projects but less energy. We would love to host travellers that can give us a little push with our projects. We need help planting trees and taking care of the forest, gardening, logging, building, propagating, forest managing, picking our produce, spending time with our son Lev and mainly just taking care of our land.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Hebrew: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate
    French: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    first option is our camper van, which includes electricity, and has a double bed.
    there is a gas stove + oven, and basic utensils to cook independently.
    second option is a tent ( in the right season ), we can make as comfy as possible.
    in that case, food can be made in our fully equipped kitchen.

    shared toilet and shower.

    in general, we will provide the food. if you have some personal preferences, you will need to provide it for yourself.
    in terms of cooking, staying in the van you can either cook for yourself or join us.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Pedrosa is quite a remote place, so public transport is difficult. we will gladly help with pickups and drives to bus stations or more central locations.
    in our life we enjoy company and meeting new people, and we also value our privacy and need it as a family. so we would love to guide you around our place,
    this is a place of water, there are rivers and shady forest spots, natural pools and waterfalls. theres endless hike and bike trails. the Xeres mountain range is close by and the ocean is an hour away.
    there are also many hot springs close by, some built by the romans.

    major points by length:
    vigo- 1 hour
    Ourense - 40 minuts
    Melgaco in portugal - 20 minutes
    Ribadavia - 25 minutes

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    there is no specific space for digital working but if you'd like we can offer internet at your private accommodation

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    This host has said they are willing to accept those travelling with a pet.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4 hours a day, Maximum 5 days a week

Host ref number: 572344657452

Feedback (3)



Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)