Come and help with Horse training and farm life in beautiful Blekinge, Sweden!

Country

Sweden

updated  

Favourited 91 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    6  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    11/09/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I live by myself at a farm in beautiful Blekinge, Sweden. The farm is located 30 kms north of Karlskrona, 180 kms north of Malmö/Copenhagen. I have five horses, one dog and three cats. The main house is newly renovated and has a large garden. I have a year off in 2019, which means I spend all my time at the farm, mostly training my horses. I use only positive reinforcement training with my horses - they are three American Paint Horses (2, 6 and 11 yo) and one small "gotlandsruss" pony, 1 yo. Lots of possibilities to train and ride the horses, using positive reinforcement. The surroundings are beautiful with lots of hiking, biking and kayaking possibilities (you can use my bike, kayak or canoe). I used to be a couch surfing host when I lived in the city, now I miss the international exchange :)

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Animal care
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Travellers can learn how to use positive reinforcement training with horses. Also experience the beautiful country side of Sweden.

  • Help

    Help

    Training horses, using positive reinforcement (clicker training). Perfect if you want to learn this. Traditional riding/handling is not allowed, however the horses can go for trail rides without a lot of knowledge from the rider. I ride western style mostly. I prefer travellers with horse experience, so we can go riding together! I also need help with all the tasks around; fencing, gardening, painting, harvesting hay, walking/training/playing with the dog :) If you know something about gardening, that's wonderful, since I don't :)

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Swedish, English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    I have four guest bed rooms in my house with separate bathroom/shower. We share cooking, or you cook for yourself, with the food I provide. I am a vegetarian and I don't drink alcohol, but I have no problem if you have a different view on this. (I don't like drunk people though.) Alcohol and meat will not be provided. Drugs are absolutely forbidden. Smoking discouraged.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Outdoor activities such as hiking, biking, canoeing, visit The Kingdom of Crystal, the island of Öland, The World Heritage city of Karlskrona etc. There is a local train station 3 kms away in Holmsjö, where you also find a grocery store and a gas station. No public transport closer than this, but I can pick you up at the train station. Closest airport is Kallinge, Ronneby airport. Closest international airport is Copenhagen. While you are here, you can use my car (for local travels) and bike.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 25 hours / week

Me and my horse Joey
My house and garden
My house and stable from a distance. The horses go free range, so no stable work :)
The horses, one day in March when it has rained a lot.
Me and my horse Joey
My dog Ishiko
One guest bed room, where only the cats sleep now :)
These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)






Host ref number: 571989525554