Join our building project in renovating an old traditional Portuguese house in the Algarve

Country

Portugal

Favourited 39 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    28/09/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Since October 2019 my son and I made the move from Cornwall, England, to renovate our 3400sq meter plot of land 15 minutes away from Tavira in the Algarve.

    A little bit about our lifestyle... We have two dogs Roxy and Peach who love being fussed over, although Roxy does take a little time to get used to guests so dog lovers are preferred. You can join us on or morning or afternoon dog walks around to check out the views and say hi to our lovely neighbours. We both live in our own horsebox homes on the land, and since being here have installed a water system and a small shower block (with hot water!), as well as a compost toilet. Both vegan, we love to keep things as eco friendly as possible by recycling, reusing materials and being mindful about waste, so we ask our guests to try and fit in with this as much as possible.

    Although there a shops and a town a short drive away, our day to day life here focuses around being on the land and enjoying the peaceful nature and views, so if you are looking for a Workaway in a peaceful and secluded spot, this could be it. As mentioned, our facilities are fairly basic, but they do the job- people who are used to living a little rough around the edges would fit in great here.

    A little bit about our project... We are currently renovating an 80 year old traditional portuguese house, with Max taking the reigns after having done similar projects in France. Some days, this does involve hard manual labour, such as shoveling and wheelbarrowing rubble, assisting with concreting, using powertools and so on. The house has a small barn attached which is in the long term plan to renovate too. The makings of a wooden terraced area hidden away in the woods, to eventually host a yurt or tipi, are also underweigh. We are keen to host people with some building or carptentry experience to work alongside Max but who are also able to take their own initiative and offer ideas. If this sounds like something you might be able to assist with, please ask us any questions about it.

    We are also interested in those with permaculture and gardening knowledge. We have a few raised beds for veggies and fruits and recently we have planted mango, pomegranate, peach and lemon trees so those with green fingers are a bonus!

    We ask volunteers to give around 4 hours of their time, 5 days week. We are flexible with timings so if you prefer to work in the morning, or afternoon, we can work something out. In exchange for your help, we offer a vegan breakfast, lunch and dinner. We wont mind if you bring something non-vegan, either. We have a tent, matresses and bedding for your sleeping arrangements or alternatively, if you have a van or your own tent etc, you can pick a spot on our land to pitch up.

    In your spare time, if you have your own transport, you can venture out into the local towns for shopping, sightseeing and beach time. If you don't have your own transport, you can jump in with us when we take trips to the local markets and shopping centers. Our closest airport is Faro which we can collect you from if you are without transport. You can also get a train from Lisbon to our local train station in just under 5 hours.

    If any of this is piquing your interest, give us a message and tell us a bit about yourself!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco Projects

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    The area here is really beautiful and natural. You can walk in the hills nearby, have some coffee in the local village and visit the weekly markets in the area on the weekend. Volunteers can learn about the local flora and fauna here, interact with the neighbours who are from many different countries, and enjoy vegan food and an eco lifestyle.

  • Help

    Help

    Although people with building and gardening experience are a bonus, we are mainly looking to exchange with people who are willing to try new skills, be proactive and bring good vibes. Some of the day to day tasks which you could help with include building fences, rendering, pruning, gardening, weeding, daily maintenance of the land, manual labour, working with powertools, concreting and digging.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    As mentioned above, we can provide a tent, comfy mattress and bedding. If you have your own, you can be free to use that too. If you have a van or mobile home, you are welcome to park up on the land. We have electric, internet, warm shower and compost toilet.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 571713329882