Help me around the house in Cape Town, South Africa

Country

South Africa

Favourited 37 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    27/11/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    81.8 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 18 days

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hey! I'm looking for vibey people over 30 to come stay with us. We’re looking for healthy open-minded people with a balance of chill and charge to make it a good fit.

    I’m your host, and I live a fine balance between enjoying the company of others, and spending time on my own. I strive to be the best human I can be at any given time, and while I take the time to live deliberately, I am still just a human on a journey of progression. I'm open-minded, understanding, and mature, but also young-at-heart, spontaneous, and there is a wildness to me.

    Things I enjoy: creativity, expanding my consciousness, authenticity, healthy living, whiskey, dancing, kiteboarding, rollerskating, wakeskating, SUPing, walking the mountain, meeting new people, doing my best, cats, quality over quantity.

    I'm well suited to other extremely open-minded, all-around decent human beings.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Help around the house
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Art Projects
    Help with Computers/ Internet
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cape Town, although rainy and cold in winter, is awesome. The cooler temperatures mean you won't boil while you climb the mountain, and you won't need to fight for space on the beach on nice sunny days. There is safe and reliable public transport in walking distance from the home. There are also supermarkets and restaurants nearby.

    Summer is a blast here, although the wind does blow pretty hectically from November to March! Regardless, there's always places to go, people to meet, sights to see. Summer is kiteboarding season, and if you're into adventure sports, Blouberg is the place for you!

    The guesthouse is 4km from Blouberg Beach, where winter is perfect for SUP and surf activity. Cape Town is FULL of treasures to enjoy and explore for all interests and enthusiasts. I can teach you how to rollerskate, crochet, sew, stand up paddleboard, and we can go on walks and Instagram photoshoot excursions!

  • Help

    Help

    Types of assistance I am open to from workawayers: I need help in the house and need artwork, decor, general maintenance, and gardening to make the house more aesthetically pleasing. I like the idea of repurposing and upcycling stuff into decor for the house, and I have a compost bin at the back of the house that I haven't got the time to put back into the earth to start some healthy soil for gardening. I'd love to have a garden that is lush with green life and leaves and grass.

    I have NO wall decor in the house yet! If you are good with creativity, making stuff and growing plants, that would be cool. If you know how to make planter boxes, and trellis desks, etc, that would be helpful.

    If you know how to keep a pool blue, that's even better.

    If you're clued up on creating websites and keen to sort one out for us, whoa hey... that would be amazing! Looking for someone to take photos, videos, do marketing, content creation, etc

    Sometimes help with the guest house may be needed.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Private room with shared bathroom, which you will share with the guests. Although in winter, there are not many guests.

    Food is not included since everyone has their own dietary choices and requirements. You are welcome to use the kitchen to make your food however, and there are lots of restaurants and choices for food around.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Do whatever you like in your time off.... or nothing at all. Winter in Cape Town is a great opportunity for introspection and creativity, and there is plenty of space to create at the house. In summer, Cape Town is known for its outdoor splendor and majesty, so there will always be something to see and do, especially if you're into spending time in nature and the outdoors.

    If you're at my house, you can enjoy Netflix on the couch to relax. We have unlimited superfast internet.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 571551431796