A peaceful, rural smallholding in Belabre, central France

Country

France

Favourited 7 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    12/05/2020

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a couple that moved from a rural life in Turkey to a similar one in France. In Turkey we organically farmed and hosted over 70 volunteers and are now looking to do the same in central France.
    We have rescue dogs and donkeys.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Language practice
    Art Projects

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Over the years that we have had volunteers I like to think that we have learnt from them as much as they can learn from our experiences and travels. I am an avid cook so always happy to teach. Gardening advice and knowledge is always on hand as is animal welfare.

  • Help

    Help

    We require help with the poultry and donkeys and general work in the garden. We always have a project on the go, hypertufa, creating secret corners in the garden, wacky chicken houses.
    We have dry stone walls to repair, paths to create and fencing to complete, always something on the go.
    We would like help from 9.00 - 12.00 and then 3.00 -5.00

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Accommodation is in part of the adjoining house with double bed bedroom, bathroom and kitchen.
    We have 15 hectares of land if you have a tent and wish to camp.
    There is use of WiFi and pool during off time.
    Vegetarian meals can be provided.
    We unable to provide for vegan volunteers.
    Basics for breakfast and lunch are provided for you to do yourself and an evening meal is provided by us.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are very rural but there is a village within walking distance with a shop, butchers and bakers.
    We have bikes which can be used during time off.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 569355835828