1 / 4

Relaxed childcare help in the beautiful Alps, Collonges-sous-Salève, France

  • Favourited 150 times
  • Last activity: 2 May 2024



 Min stay requested: 1 month or more



  • Description


    Single-parent multicultural family, we look for someone who can assist with childcare with the youngest one (9yo) and some housekeeping.

    Who we are:
    Loïc - 39 years old, water engineer, likes cooking, gardening, recycling and DIY, indie cinema, 🧘 meditation and yoga, hiking, alternatives to the mainstream system (cohousing, LETS, local currencies, burns 🔥,…). In the medium term, I am considering a reconversion in cohousing project management.
    Atlie - 15 years old, calm, creative, loves reading, drawing, singing and cooking, arts and craft, Korean culture.
    Motsumi - 9 years old, energy ball, athletic, loves insects, climbing, drawing, collecting precious stones, breakdance, beatbox, basketball.
    ❤️Our values: positive education, inclusiveness, healthy living (eating organic, no TV,…), kindness, into Degrowth and, as much as possible, local and/or organic consumption. Flexitarian diet.

    The expected help can be discussed and, if you prefer, can be modest enough to allow you to easily fit a part-time job on the side (even on the Swiss side with the possibility of very decent income). It mostly involves childcare (getting Motsumi to school in the morning, to his wednesday afternoon activities) and some help with house/garden chores.
    We're very easy-going and hope to find people happy to spend some time with us.
    We like to share meals with our guests but you're of course free to organise yourself.

    The house is located in a village just outside of Geneva so you can enjoy both the countryside feel and the city vibe. The space we can offer is large and can comfortably host a couple.

    Preference for people willing to stay at least 3 months.
    An intermediate level of french language is necessary to be able to communicate with Motsumi. EDIT: his english has improved so it's not compulsory.
    Driving licence necessary to be able to take Motsumi to rugby practice.

    We support progressive ideas. Black Lives Matter and LGBTQI+ friendly. We try to keep our privileges in check and hope our guests are mindful of these issues too.

    Loïc, Atlie and Motsumi

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Our family is multicultural and very open to the world.
    I'm quite handy and can teach various type of DIY. I'm currently converting my own van so I can teach you what I'm learning in the process.
    I'm into community-led projects (been quite involved in LETS and local currencies, trained in co-housing project management) and can share a lot about these topics. This year will start a community veggie garden in our garden.
    I can also share my knowledge about cryptocurrencies.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    The main task is preparing and taking Motsumi to school in the morning on week days and take him to his activities on wednesday afternoon.
    Babysitting, once a week on average, from 18h30 - 21h.
    Some house/gardenkeeping and cooking as per skills and affinity.
    We can discuss if you prefer having more time for yourself/to work on the side and adjust the workload.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    German: Intermediate
    Spanish: Beginner
    Italian: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation


    You'll have a large (23m2) bedroom with couch and desk corner, plus an equally large adjacent space (which occasionally serves as guest room) upstairs, sharing the rest of the living space (which is downstairs) with us.
    There is a large well-equiped workshop in the basement as well as big garden and veggie garden.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    An intermediate level of french language is necessary to be able to communicate with my son (who is still in the beginning of learning english).
    The area is very scenic with mountains right above us, Geneva lake, and the Mont Blanc close-by.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    The connection is ok but not suitable for heavy bandwidth use (normal ADSL, not fibre).

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    12 to 20 hours a week (to be discussed)

Host ref number: 565624568534

Feedback (3)



These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)