Experience the Kiwi way of life in the Waikato, New Zealand


New Zealand

Favourited 103 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    72.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 6 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
Join now to contact this host

 Min stay requested: at least a week

  • Description


    HI! Welcome to our family. We are Carl & Amanda in our mid thirties with two active boys, 6 & 7 years old.

    We are a busy, active family who work hard and enjoy getting out and about in our spare time. We enjoy activities such as attending local sports games, mountain biking or riding along the river trails, a day at the beach or local food festival, or even a quick camping trip to one of our many beautiful beaches, lakes or wilderness areas.

    We love the Kiwi way of life and are eager to share it with you, but we are also keen to expose our children to different cultures and languages.

    We are very lucky to live in a small rural community not far from Hamilton. Everyone in the community is friendly and all look out for each other. On hot summer afternoons we can usually be found at the local swimming pool or at a neighbours having a BBQ.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Be immersed in a pretty typical Kiwi family. Hang out with our kids, practice your English and learn kiwi slang that will help you on your travels.

    We travel around NZ a lot and have heaps of experience with our beaches, great walks, wilderness areas, mountains and lakes and, if you are after advice, can point you in the right direction for the remainder of your travels.

    We are also keen to learn about different cultures and food and love having a chat over a beer or wine.

  • Help


    We need an extra pair of hands to help us out on our property, mostly gardening and whipping our 1 acre property into shape!

    We are looking for someone to join our family and help us out as need but you would have heaps of time to yourself to explore the area. We would welcome you to join in our other activities if you were interested.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken


  • Accommodation


    We have a very nice, large room that is separate and private from our house. The room has a queen size bed and variety of other furniture items, including a small fridge. Other facilities (toilets, cooking, bathroom) are available within the main house.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We have good access to bush walking and hiking, as well as to the West Coast beaches, such as Raglan. We welcome volunteers to come and meet our friends and share in our activities. We do not have any set hours of work as our work schedules change, this will allow good opportunity to visit the local sights and surrounding regions.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Up to 4 hours per day, 5 days

Anniversary Weekend trip to Hot Water Beach with family and Workawayer
View from top of Hakarimata walk

Host ref number: 563674679448