A few hours of daily childcare help needed : )

Country

Spain

Favourited 54 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    27/08/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    659

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello!

    14th - 28th September 2018

    We are a happy and busy family of 3 always on the lookout for new friends, new inspiration and new adventures!

    We live in the picturesque village of Soller, nestled in a valley of the world heritage Tramuntana mountain range, moments from the town’s central plaza, surrounded by local market streets, shops and cafes, and just a short tram or bike ride to the beach and laid back holiday resort of Port de Soller.

    We moved to the valley just two years ago from our home in Brixton in London. Our aim was to take a few years to get out of the rat race of London, take time for our family, start our own business, make new friends, learn Spanish, and introduce Charlie to new cultures, communities and environments.

    Together we run our Private Chef business with Piers in the kitchen and looking after our bookings from my office on the top floor of our house. Piers is a truly phenomenal Chef who has cooked for Presidents, Prime Ministers and Private Clients all around the world. Anyone who wants to learn about passion, skill and plain hard graft has only to walk into his kitchen for a morning (based on the ground floor of our house) to learn all that and more.

    This year we have also taken on our latest project – a sprawling three storey town house with plenty of room for our three year Charlie to run about in, and for us to run our own business.

    Between running the business, starting renovations on the house, keeping up with our three year old, and cooking incredible food for amazing clients all over the island – life here is busy to say the least!

    We are looking for help over a busy period of work for us in September - the dates are 14th to the 28th September but we are flexible by a few days on arrival and departure times. We are looking for someone to help just a few hours a day with dropping Charlie at school and picking up, and a few evenings of babysitting (around 5 evenings in total) where Piers and I will be out of the house working.

    Charlie is a lot of fun, and keeping him entertained comprises mainly of visits to the beach, the public pool, the local square for icecream and the local playgrounds!

    If you are interested in helping us look after Charlie over these dates, while enjoying a lovely holiday for yourself, please get in touch!

    We look forward to hearing from you!

    Holly, Piers and Charlie

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    As a family and as individuals Piers and I have travelled all over the globe.

    My background is in Third World Development including community projects and humanitarian aid. I have worked for some of the UK’s biggest charities (Christian Aid, Macmillan Cancer Support) and spent many years abroad working on local charity projects in the developing world, including Guatemala, Nicaragua, El Salvador, Honduras, Peru, Nepal and Ethiopia. I have a masters in International Development Management and headed up a team of Account Managers at Macmillan Cancer Support in the Corporate Fundraising Team. I love to share my experiences and my knowledge in any way I can, and to install confidence and new skill sets for anyone looking to go down this line of work.

    In terms of our local community, Soller has a vast and rich heritage in all kinds of cultural exchange. The community is extremely open and accepting to visitors and always happy to welcome new faces. The local Mallorcan dialect is a rich cultural language fusion in itself, and anyone willing to tackle a local dialect or just improve either their Spanish or English in a local environment, will certainly be coming to the right place!

    If you want to brush up on cooking skills, then you won’t be able to leave here without a whole new cooking repertoire by your side! Piers is a wonderful teacher, who is willing to show even a complete beginner how to start in the kitchen with tips and tricks to help you wow even the most basic home cooked meals! If you are a cooking enthusiast, then this really is your opportunity - Piers is based from his work kitchens at home, and any free time you have to join him to learn and see a talented, creative, Chef at work – his kitchen door is always open!

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for an energetic, happy, confident individual to join our family life specifically in September to help with childcare.

    The dates we are looking at are:
    1. arrival between the 14th and 17th september (whenever flights are best for you)
    2. departure anytime after the 27th september (ie 28th onwards)

    Charlie is starting school on the 12th September. His timetable is 9 - 12pm, then he comes home for lunch, and goes back 3pm- 5pm. So everyday I am looking for a little bit of help picking him up at 12pm, looking after him over lunchtime, then taking him back to school at 3pm. I will be working from home most days so we can share pickups and drop offs between us.

    the weekend of the 23rd/24th September I will be out most of the day each day, so both these days we are looking for someone to look after charlie for the day, take him to the beach on the tram, have an icecream in the square, go to the playground, have some downtime at home etc.

    There will be 4 - 5 evenings of babysitting required too.

    Other than that you will have free time to do whatever you want, explore the island, go to Palma by train, head to the beach, shopping, etc. Whatever you want! We are very keen to make it as much of a holiday/travel abroad experience for you as we are to have a little bit of help for us!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Spanish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have your own room, with windows looking out over a quiet village street, on the top floor of our house, with access to a shared bathroom with both bath and shower facilities. Our house has ample spaces where you can enjoy time to yourself – our quiet, shady garden, our sunny breakfast terrace, our large front room with two three seater sofas that soak up the afternoon sun, and a kitchen to use as you like, and shared with the family (separate to where Piers works in his kitchen on the floor below). We have speedy internet, access to bikes – and free airport pick up : )

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Our main priority with your stay is that when you leave you feel you have learnt, seen, explored, and been part of an amazing family life and a new adventure!

    Just a 3 minute walk from our house is both a bus and train station with direct transport to Mallorca’s capital, Palma. Also next to the train station is the local tram that runs to and from the beach all day, so whenever you have a couple of hours and fancy the sand, sea and a book – it really is right on your doorstep!

    There are great hotels and hostels all over the island, breathtaking walking paths, incredible beaches, and vast mountains to climb!

    The Mediterranean in the summer is like a warm bath, and the sun is always shining!

    We will actively be encouraging you to make the most of your time here, to get out and see the island as much as you can, and to come with us on our own road trip adventures too when you want to!

    We are a thirty minute flight from Barcelona and a ferry ride away from Menorca, Ibiza and our other Baleric neighbours!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Local villages
Winter weekend trip to Barcelona
Deia - neighbouring village and beach
Port de Soller
Our local tram ride to the beach
Nearby fishing cove
Charlie and his bike : )
Our front door
View from our terrace (sunset)
View from our terrace.
Host ref number: 563396752177