1 / 4

Come and help on our eco-farm near Cabo Polonio, Uruguay

  • Uruguay
  • Favourited 31 times
  • Last activity: 30 Apr 2023



 Min stay requested: No minimum



  • Description


    My name is Teresa. I am from Germany. I have been living on my farm near Cabo Polonio since 2012. It is a small community of three women, 2 children, both aged 8, 4 horses, 5 cats and 1 dog.
    We have a big vegetable garden and fruit trees and help together to produce healthy, organic food.
    Apart from that we have a big library in a building which was a school in 1900 and now it is a place for cultural activities throughout the year.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    General Maintenance
  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    There are many books to read in several languages. We often organize events and gatherings of artists, celebrating the different arts, such as painting, dance, poetry, etc.
    We also practise yoga and meditation.

  • Help


    As there are several buildings there is always some maintenance tasks to be done, such as painting and minor repairs.
    Sometimes we need help fixing the fences that surround the farm. For that we need to cut posts in our forest.
    Apart from that help might be needed in the vegetable garden.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    I am a qualified German and English teacher. I love learning and teaching languages.

  • Accommodation


    There are several buildings on the farm. Helpers will have access to a shared dormitory and kitchen. Food will be provided and can be prepared in one of the shared kitchens. There are several bathrooms with hot showers.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The farm is located in a small natural paradise, very close to Cabo Polonio, a famous beach with a big sea-lion reserve and a protected natural park. Another virgin beach is 2 km away from the farm. On the other side, there is a massive lake and an Ombu Forest. There is a shop right next to the farm which sells a bit of everything.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    It's a 15 ha farm with plenty of space to park your vehicle.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    If you want to bring along a pet, let us know in advance!

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 563257424381

Feedback (2)



These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Horse farm Colonia Uruguay
Bio-construction (Mud, Bamboo, wood, restauration), gardening, bamboo nursery, sustainability and more in Maldonado, Uruguay