Make our horse farm your home during the beautiful winter surrounded by amazing nature in Horné Orešany, Slovakia

Country

Slovakia (Slovak Republic)

Favourited 17 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    19/11/2021

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hey there!
    We are Mary and Miguel, a married couple from Slovakia and Chile, living on a small farm in Horné Orešany, Slovakia-
    50 min from the capital city Bratislava.

    During the summer season we are busy with our horse lessons, camps and bees, in the winter we love to work as ski & snowboard instructors and give our animals a break.
    In the past we had singles, couples but also families taking care of the farm, they enjoyed it so it became a win-win situation.

    Therefor we want to give you the opportunity to enjoy farm life and take care of the farm while we are gone.We like you to stay for at least 2 month during the months December,January and February . we are also happy to have you longer =)

    We have 6 horses, 2 dogs, 2 cats and 2 mini pigs

    More animals than people but the daily work can be done in 2-4 hours (morning feeding animals,mucking out and taking care of horses, evening feeding animals)
    Most of the work is around our horses, which are well behaved but still are a herd living 24/7 outside. Little injuries can happen, no big deal, but need to be taken care of as other work that comes with this animals. Who knows, knows but of course we will give you a thorough introduction over few weeks and think this is a great opportunity for any horse and animal loving person/couple/family.

    We have an outdoor arena, a little indoor arena and great opportunities for trail riding. We ride both english and western and focus mainly on the natural and safe way around horses. During the year I do hippo therapies and offer lessons teaching not only riding but more the "around" the horse.

    Dogs are one big old lady who´s most of the time sleeping and the other one is a 2 years old small creature full of love. She loves to go out on trails, hikes and will love you for some ball games, but also enjoys the chill and cuddles on the couch.The cats are super cool, young outside cats which don´t require much but will be happy for some cuddles. Taking care of the pigs is simple and easy and I guarantee you will love them =) .

    Winter months can get cold here and we also get snow, not much but we do. No extremes here, so there is no, to very little snow removal necessary. We also have a very little slope were we took our old boards, skis and sleds and had some fun in the snow. Also we did some sledding and skiing behind horses.
    It can get rainy and muddy, but not too bad as most of our area is fixed with gravel,sand or is indoor.


    You would stay in a house on property (right beside the horses) providing internet, tv, 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms,living room with fireplace and open kitchen, garage with laundry room a game room with table football, ping pong, PS4 and an open library with another bed for 2.
    So there is always something to do and you will have a lot of time for yourself/yourselves.

    Day offs can be arranged in advance. There are always neighbours and friends happy to help out.
    There is a Bar/Restaurant just 100m below us, with good cold beer and yummy food.
    Bus is right beside that bar and takes you in just 25 min to the next city (Trnava-train station, shopping mall, cinema,etc)
    (the bus will drive everyday but keep in mind we are in the country side so they are not as frequent)
    The next groceries are 5 min by car, same with bus and are also reachable by foot 20-30 min.

    When you are interested and have question we will be happy to get in contact with you.
    Cheers :)

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Enjoying the time for yourself on small farm with animals
    lots of culture to explore around
    surrounded by beautiful nature with amazing hikes

  • Help

    Help

    horse care - experience required
    dog care- little experience required
    cat care- no experience required
    pig care- no experience required

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Slovak: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    House with 3 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, 1 kitchen, game room, garage with laundry room

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Bus stop just 200 meters from the house
    Trnava 25 min
    Bratislava 50min
    Vienna 1h 45min

    Bar 100 meters from the house

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Pets have to be ok with our animals (no stress situations both sides)

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    2-4 hours a day,


Host ref number: 561681527669