Come and help on our organic farm in Chitrapur, India

Country

India

Favourited 27 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    16/09/2020

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a 7 acre Organic farm in North Coastal Karnataka. My husband Vivek and myself (Tanuja) maintain and manage our farm. Our two daughters are away at Universities. Our extended family comprises of a cat, 4 dogs, and a herd of 22 local cows and buffaloes.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    An experience of living in rural India, in a remote farm amidst nature, enjoying the rich biodiversity of this land and the adjoining forest is an unforgettable experience.

  • Help

    Help

    We need help to handle the farm produce. Post harvest processing of some of the produce involves cleaning, sorting, slicing, juicing, sundrying the different types of fruits and spices that grow on our land. De-weeding and sprucing up the farm and kitchen garden, tending to the pepper vines, spraying organic plant elixirs, raking dry leaves, picking up fallen nuts are some of the tasks that we need help with.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Hindi: Fluent
    Kannada: Fluent
    Marathi: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    An independant room with basic furniture ( a bed and a desk) with a common bath/toilet. Our home is built in the traditional style with tiled roof, but has all the basic comforts. Food - we are vegetarian, and cook 3 meals a day. Freshly cooked traditional meals that are typical of our small community is what we have. A lot of what is grown on the farm is served at the table.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 559853217196