Help out at my home near Ludlow, UK

Country

United Kingdom

updated  

Favourited 210 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    14  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    26/10/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    84.6 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I am living in a large house just outside a village near Ludlow, Shropshire. The house has its origins from the 11th century. The gardens are very large and are surrounded by fields. A river is at the bottom of the garden. This workaway opportunity would suit someone who enjoys being in the country away from the inner cities.
    The workaway help will vary but involve either helping the gardener in the gardens and fields or if you feel able assisting with the care of my mother. This would be discussed fully prior to coming.

    I have moved back to UK to help with the care of my mother and haven a live in carer. As the live in carer requires breaks away each month there is an oportunity for me to pay you for this week. Also any additional work associated with helping the carer will be paid over and above your workaway guidelines.

    There is ample space in the house for you to have privicy if required or join in also. There is a separate mini gym area which is also an artist studio for guests or workawayers. There is also a music room with guitars and a decent electronic piano with weighted keys.

    Activities that i do that may be of interest are tai chi, chi kung, wushu, sanda, karate. Also film and music.
    Also 3D animation and film editing (adobe c.c), improving adobe c.c and animation for current and future indie film projects.
    Also paint but not for a while , (room for you to paint for sure)

    It is important that you are comfortable with and use to doing housework such as cooking (alternately) and cleaning before applying. Help could also include assisting with helping on the land (gardening, riverside maintenance (cutting weeds back), sanding wood, varnishing, painting. Please read the workaway guidelines regarding cooking and cleaning shared responsibilities.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Elderly Companionship
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    Animal Care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    This is a beautiful and historic area with many quaint villages and old castles.. There is a beautiful river at the bottom of the garden.
    When helping the gardener you can aquire quite a bit of knowledge. I can teach you tai chi and chi gung.

  • Help

    Help

    As outlined above. This will be discussed carefully before you arrive.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    you will have your own room with a bathroom available to you. There are many rooms for you to use.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Country walk. Visits to Ludlow and surrounding towns and villages.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can possibly acccept pets

    Can possibly acccept pets

    i have a small dog.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    A max 25 hrs a week. Additional hours will be paid.

here is Rebecca with the silver table she renovated for the apartment in denia.
view of port from lower terrace in apartment denia. other terraces have views of sea and castle.
benimassot fiesta
paella fiesta in next village benimassot
volunteers Joanna and marta at Tollos fiestas 2july 015
with Joanna from Poland at Tollos fiestas
tollos fiestas 2015
tai chi in denia










Host ref number: 559772937336