Experience farm life in Akaroa, Banks Peninsula New Zealand


New Zealand


Favourited 220 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
Contact Register

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

  • Description


    Hi there

    Thank you for stopping by ;)

    We live in a beautiful farmhouse in Goughs Bay, 20-minute drive from Akaroa. We have got six months old gorgeous girl. We are looking for someone to help us with farm and gardening work. If you love home grown organic produce, and want to learn and experience a sustainable lifestyle during your stay in New Zealand than this is the right place for you. Ideally, we would prefer someone with some experience in gardening and basic building. If you don't have any prior experience as such but willing to learn, get your hands dirty and share your creative ideas, then you are welcome as well.

    You will get to enjoy New Zealand farm life and meet our sheep, pet lamp Kluane and her new babies. Our famous pet dogs Bella and Ruby and farm dog Bobby ;) Of-course, you will also meet our chickens - Margaret, Brown girl, Mary, Rocky... The last but not the least you will get a chance to feed our ducks - Lucky and Ducky and their flock.

    Marie and Asif

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Learn about the history of Akaroa, conservation, tourism, experience New Zealand farm life. Spend time with us and the animals. Chance to explore beautiful Akaroa and Banks Peninsula - Especially the Wildside ecological restoration project see

  • Help


    Gardening and farming, some building work.
    Bicycle maintenance.
    Guitar lessons.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken


  • Accommodation


    We offer free accommodation (your own private room, two single beds), free dinner (you must provide your own breakfasts and lunches) along with other facilities such as limited wi-fi, laundry and bath. No mobile phone coverage. You might need to work a bit longer on some days and you can adjust your hours accordingly. Private Room.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    No vegetarian. Gluten free is ok.

    We live out of mobile phone range, so cannot receive text messages when at home.

    If you are interested send us an email or your resume and we will get back to you ASAP.

    Do not hesitate to contact us if you got any further question(s).

    And there will be some housekeeping jobs at times, if the weather is not good.

    Thank you for your time.

    P.S. Contact only, when you are already in New Zealand.

    20 hours per week. This can be 3 hours per day over six days or 4 hours over 5 days.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 558798412474