Come to help us to build a beautiful house with natural materials, South west, Portugal

Country

Portugal

updated  

Favourited 115 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    18/10/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    84.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are Jaun (37) and Lisa (33), a french couple living on Alentejo's coast since 2018 (2h south of Lisbon). After traveling in different countries all over the world, we decided to settled down and found a beautiful land to live, 10min from a village and 30min from the sea (by car).
    Since 2018, we put a lot of efforts and love to create a nice place to live with permaculture approach. So far we installed a solar pump and solar panels (we live off grid), we take care of the trees and plant more to develop the biodiversity and we built an outside kitchen and bathroom with eco friendly and natural material. And every year we do a veggy garden for the summer.
    This year, we finally started to renovate the old ruin of Taipa (traditional earth/clay house). For people interested in natural building, it is a great project: a combination of clay wall, wooden structure and light straw.
    The structure is prety done, the roof also (only tiles missing) so we want to start to fill up the walls with Light-straw technique and we need motivated people to help us with that :)
    We are both working part time, Jaun is in charge of a biodynamic vinyard and Lisa is a Yoga teacher so we are quite busy with our work, the daily tasks on the land and buidling!
    That's why we believe our project fits better for independant and already a bit experienced people.
    We have a nice caravan for the volunteers to have their own place to sleep and chill and we have a common kitchen and bathroom.
    In general, even if we are quite hard workers, we are both easy going and we like to like to chill at the beach (Jaun loves to surf), to party with friends and to enjoy life.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    From what our friends, family, travellers and volunteers said, they always feel good spending time on our land.

    For many people, it is quite a change to spend time with us because we live most of the time outside. So it is a good way to live simply, more connected to the Nature. With basic but nice confort (meaning: no fridge, no washing machine...) and come back to appreciate little daily pleasure.

    About the work on the land, we are always happy to share what we have learned so far and we like to learn new things from you.

    We also really like to spend time with people, we are French but we both speak Portuguese and we are quite well integrated to the local life. So it is also a way to better know the area, local coffee, local food, etc..

    But, It is also good to acknowledge that we are just a couple (not a community) and we also work and live here so we also need some time on our own... :)

  • Help

    Help

    In October, we are looking for 2 travellers (couple or friends) super motivated to learn the technique of light-straw.
    It is a nice technique to do because we work only with natural materials and and always with a group of people.
    But, it is demanding in term of "manpower", basicaly, it takes time ! :)

    About the tasks:
    - Eco building: for the coming week, it will be mainly light straw and helping to finish the roof and others tasks coming up with the building.
    - Daily tasks: we all contribute to cook, clean and keep the space nice and confortable...
    THIS IS A GREAT OPORTUNITY FOR THOSE WILLING TO LEARN ABOUT ECO BUILDING, FOR SURE YOU WILL GET NEW SKILLS AFTER STAYING AND HELPING US.

    Hours and exchange:
    The normal exchange is 5h/day 5days/week. We are providing a place to stay (caravan) and 3 meals a day (veggy meals) that we prepare together.
    NB: All extra, snacks, special food, drinks are shared costs :)

    Important: we live 10min by car from the first village so we are looking for travellers with their own car.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Portuguese: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a small caravan with a double bed and a sofa (that can be a bed too).
    We have an outside community kitchen and we share the bathroom.
    It is a compost toilet and shower with hot water.

    We are a small and low budget project so we can only provide simple facilities. But this is how we live everyday and we think it is comfortable for people who like to live in nature.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    In this area, you will get to the chance to discover a peaceful part of Portugal and meeting many people from all over the world coming here to find a better place to live close to the Nature! Lots of interesting things are going on in the region and they are many projects to discover.
    We are located in the Natural park of the Alentejo coast, it is possible to go hiking, fishing, canoeing, and to surf and swim in beautiful beaches.
    As we said before, it is good to have your own car.

    Thanks for reading until the end..... And contact us if you liked our profile ! :)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    it is possible depending of the size of the camper/van because of the trees and the shape of the land.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    it is possible yes.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    25h/week





Host ref number: 557727676188