Assist with our small village hostel and the animals in Las Galeras, Dominican Republic

Country

Dominican Republic

Favourited 472 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    9  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    25/09/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    87.5 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 5 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    The hostel (cat hostel now) is owned by Karin (Belgium) who has lived in Las Galeras for almost 22 years. She has 11 horses and does customized educational horse trips for small groups. The hostel is a big house with dorm rooms and two private rooms, the owner lives on the second floor.
    The hostel works in order to maintain a lot of rescued animals 42 heads in total ,11 horses, 2 dogs, 1 chicken and 28 cats which are all steriel and in good health now.
    Last year Karin has built a Cat-house on the same property so that not all 28 cats live in the hostel enymore.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    Help around the house
    Hospitality/Tourism

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You can learn a lot about animals, life in the D.R., tourisme, nature and yourself.

  • Help

    Help

    This is suitable for someone who loves nature and animals and doesn't mind to help wherever help is needed.
    The last years a lot of cats have been rescued and adopted so imported is that you love cats and willing to help me with taking care of the cats and 2 dogs. A little of experience with horses would be nice.
    FOR NOW (winter 2020)
    A person who doesn't mind cleaning the hostel, rooms and public area. Also doing some gardening around the main house (keeping the garden free of leaves and some weeding) as with so many animals it is important that the place is always clean. Possible also some work to do with the horses in case you like that.
    Important is that you need to like animals a lot or you will not be comfortable here. A volunteer will arrive Febr. 16 so you will not be the only volunteer here.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You can have a room if available otherwise a bed in the dorm. Host is not a cook, the person can use the shared kitchen/living space in the hostel.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Las Galeras is a small tourist/fishing village and the dominant culture is still Dominican. There are many beautiful hidden beaches in the area as well as good hiking/horse trails. the hostel is 3 miles from Las Galeras situated in the countryside next to the Cabo Samaná park. Humpback whale watching season is mid Jan to mid March and many come to this area just to see the whales. Transportation is easy and inexpensive, motor-taxis and local buses for the short distances and the national bigger tourbus companies for longer distance.
    What to do here, swimming, snorkeling, diving, hiking, horse riding, walk the dogs, photograph nature, in town dancing merengue and bachata.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    No more than 3-5 hours, 5 days a week








Host ref number: 556283165232