Join our multicultural family and help with renovating our family home in Preuilly sur claise, France

Country

France

Favourited 3 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    19/06/2021

 
  2022 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a multicultural family (dad's French, mom's Finnish, my partner is Singaporean) in a quaint little village in Southern Loire Valley, France. Loire is a great region in the center of France that has lots of historical sights and is famous worldwide for its wines (Chinon, Saumur, Vouvray, Sancerre etc.) and food (fantastic cheeses!) Professionally we are restaurateurs and until we open our next restaurant we are preparing take away food from home and are selling our food at the local market. So we are quite busy!
    We are lucky to have a large family house from the 17th century so everyone has enough space but the house needs some renovations so we are looking to host somebody with construction skills to help out (and show us the way too!). The person would be living with us, have its own room with tv and wifi.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Staying with us is a great opportunity to experiment living in the heart of France. There are many places to visit (Loire Valley is a World Unesco heritage site) to learn about European history. We cook and lot and love to share a good meal, either French, Finnish or Chinese cuisine ( a lot!). We do go to vineyards sometimes so there is a chance to learn about wines too.
    Very importantly we leave in the country side so there is a great chance to explore the nature here, lots of hiking routes, forest, lakes, canoe activities to do.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We are hoping to host someone with house constructions skills.
    We are not particularly knowledgable in that area so we need someone with experience (and show us the way too!). There is no heavy structural works required. It is about doing electricity, plumbing, plastering etc.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Finnish: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Chinese (Mandarin): Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The person will have its own bedroom with a queen bed, wifi and tv.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is a bus line that connect our village to the main town in the area (Tours) in an hour.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    The room has the closest connection to the house wifi. It is actually our son's bedroom who is an avid online gamer, but he is not here during the summer.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 554168142369