A characterful medieval stone town-house needs sorting out and beautifying in Tarn and Garonne, SW France

Country

France

Favourited 11 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    05/10/2018

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Superb (and URGENT opportunity) for practical couple to help prepare a medieval town house for sale in a well-known tourist hotspot - I have a deadline of mid August for the photographs of the house being published. I must get the house ship-shape and attractive for sale before then.
    Good energy-levels are needed, plus good humour, and good English. Only those who are not afraid of a somewhat dusty but very rewarding project need apply! Non-smokers preferred but it must be outside ( tidily and responsibly) if you do...
    This project would suit an enthusiastic, practical couple ( double bedded room will be your accommodation) with good food, free internet access in my home and a courtyard garden to relax in. I will provide your food. NB there is no internet access on site - but good telephone reception all round.
    You will have time to enjoy the area and a clean driving licence an advantage and own transport if you wish to travel around as there is no public transport available in the village.
    You will need vision and enthusiasm and be able to follow my ideas.... and if you have specific skills like carpentry or can do electrics this will be a great advantage as would be your own tools. I value neat, tidy work protecting the area you are working on and and clearing up after yourselves and I must meet this deadline !
    High season in a beautiful lively touristic/cultural village is a bonus for you - with events, music, swimming, canoeing and great walks are on your door-step. It is VITAL to me to meet this photographic deadline and after that there will be more time for you to enjoy yourselves after this if you wish to stay on as there will be other little projects for you to do.
    If you feel up to a challenge please contact as soon as possible. The clock is ticking !!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    This is an ancient and very pretty village, in SW France - steeped in history and rich in culture - it will be up to the individuals how much they will benefit...it is a lively charming and busy place.

  • Help

    Help

    See details above. A characterful medieval stone town-house needs sorting out and 'prettying up' (and trips to the dump! ) to prepare for sale. Cleaning, painting, DIY, window-cleaning, washing paintwork, refurbishing - and TLC needed! Deadline for estate agent's photos is early to mid August. After that the finishing can continue and preparation for the sale of contents etc...

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The project is 200m away from the accommodation (which will be in my home) - a double-bedded room, separate toilet and shower-room. Otherwise use of the kitchen and shower room on site after a dusty few hours work if preferred... I will prepare food 'chez moi'. A charming, secluded courtyard garden for evening grills or just chilling in is available (with it own free WiFi…) also I am very central cafe's, bars and restaurants, local swimming pool and river-swimming and canoeing. Important you must respect the resident cats and a dog and not be allergic to either!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    When you call me - please make it clear that you are from WorkAway - as I run a Bed and Breakfast here - and I did not wish to confuse you with guests who might be contacting! You will need transport if you wish to leave the village to explore the region further, no buses here but there is a taxi (but expensive!). Local train station is 18km. I can arrange collection from there but own transport really would be better.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day each , 5 days a week

Host ref number: 553531838245