Help grow organic food overlooking the Atlantic Ocean and stay in a two hundred year old cottage in Kenmare, Ireland

  • Ireland
  • Favourited 1977 times
  • Last activity: 30 Nov 2023



 Min stay requested: No minimum



  • Description


    Hi there! My name is Darragh I’m 37 years old and live in a typical 200 year old Irish cottage in Kerry over looking the Atlantic Ocean on the Wild Atlantic way. I am heavily involved in renewable electricity production and operate a portfolio of renewable energy power stations in the West Cork and Kerry mountains. I also own a small organic farm around my house and keep rare breed sheep and Aylesbury ducks. My land runs down to the Wild Atlantic Ocean where it is possible to Swim, Boat or Fish on a private Pier.

    I have built a 200m2 PollyTunnel for growing vegetables, this is a live Im now looking for help this summer with cultivating Organic Berries, Fruit and Vegetables for self consumption. Im experimenting allot with different Permaculture methods and I can teach what I have learned so far on this Journey.

    I have a very Dear friend called Dominic who comes to visit my home a few times a week and works on developing and maintaining the Tunnel and the Lands around. He is a true visionary and has been working in gardens for over 50 years. He has incredible enthusiasm for plants and wild flowers.

    I also have just restored a separate cottage next to my house to a very high rustic standard and can provide a very nice separate place to stay.

    I am looking for people to help with the tunnel project and help out maintaining animals and the land in general. I love to cook for people and eat almost exclusively an organic diet.

    I also enjoy brewing lots of hedge row sparkling wines, beers and ciders depending on the seasons. I have been doing this for over 10 years and would be happy to share knowledge and know how of how to complete the fermentation process.

    I expect help for a few hours a day, I live 5Km from the town of Kenmare which is a vibrant little town known for the food and music scene. I can provide an electric bicycle if you like for you to travel to town of explore the local area.

    My little farm is not a commercial business and all produce is consumed locally on site throughout the year. Everything here is for self consumption!

    I’ve big plans for some new ideas I’m working on for next year so hopefully I can available of the help of more workaways going forward into the future!

    I myself enjoy many hobbies and can very easily get obsessed with new ideas or tasks, all year around I’m involved in fishing and hunting and foraging for all types of foods. I’m an avid hill walker and trekker and know many trails and tracks locally. I’ve been involved in motorsport since I’m 12 years old and had the proud opportunity to represent Ireland abroad motor racing, I still enjoy track racing and I own a few race cars. I’ve driven helicopters and motorbikes and love offroading quad bikes which I have a few. I like to tie fishing flies with feathers i find, I keep bees also. I have worked in many music festivals both setting up and running and designing spaces as I have great experience in autoCad design work. I’ve also just bought a sailing boat with a good friend and neighbour who is teaching me all about it. I work with a local university to help masters students with projects on hydro electric power production or development, usually one student a year and I take time out of my life free to do this.
    I have a huge passion for Irelands technical heritage specifically old water powered mills dating back to medieval times, in the past I have hosted visits, tours and talks to bus loads of people sharing mechanical knowledge on how these plants operated.
    I love storytelling and I come from a family famous for this.
    I try to travel as much as my time allows and have friends now all over the planet.


  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Help with Eco Projects
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I’m very easy going and love meeting new people and learning about different cultures.

  • Help


    I would like light farm help, gardening and many other small tasks like playing with my dog and gathering produce. Would also love to learn more about cooking from other cultures.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Afrikaans: Beginner
    Spanish: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation


    I have a separate cottage to my house which I just finished restoring last summer, it’s done to a high standard and you will have your own bedroom and bathroom with electric shower and free internet

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is lots to do and see around Kenmare town and the Local area

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 3-4 hours a day, 4 days a week

Host ref number: 551891355859

Feedback (8)


These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.8)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Help with some tasks around our home and gardens near the Forest in County Kildare, rural Ireland
CHILDCARE and some light tasks in a peaceful countryside home in county Kerry, Southern Ireland