Join our comfortable life in touch with nature, helping with permaculture gardening and DIY in Engeløya, Norway

Country

Norway

updated  

Favourited 205 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    02/10/2020

 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello, dear traveller!

    We are Anna and Emilie, and we just moved to this new plot of land that we call The Northern Skies.
    Our new home is on beautiful island of Engeløya (angel island), where we live on the tip of the land, with a view to our beloved Vestfjorden (West fjord). Anna grew up on a neighbouring farm in the village, and after studying landscape architecture and working in Oslo and Lofoten, we decided to buy our own plot of land and move back to the roots, and back to nature. We are currently living our dream, which is a comfortable life in touch with nature. This spring, from April, we will begin to establish a permaculture garden to grow food in a holistic way. One of the projects is to establish a forest garden with local perennial plants.

    Another important part of our everyday at The Northern Skies is music and art. Anna and her sister has their studio in the house, where they produces and records music and make stage performances. This is very much a creative home!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Travelers who visit us will experience a truly beautiful and spectacular place on earth. You will get a taste of life in the countryside, with farming and enjoying nature and nature phenomenas like the northern lights and the midnight sun. If you like to go on hikes, this is a good place to be, with wild nature right outside the doorstep.

    If you are interested in farming, we will be very happy to exchange knowledge and passions. You can learn about food culture in the north of Norway, and about the nordic flora.

  • Help

    Help

    We recently moved to The Northern Skies, so there is lots to do inside and outside the house, pluss the establishing of a edible garden from scratch. All help will be much appreciated, and we believe that you might have your own expertise that will be fun to make us of, in addition to the things we could come up with in the lists below:

    The house needs painting and some fixing here and there. So if you are friends with carpenters tools, you will not be bored in this place.

    Indoor projects:
    Painting here and there
    New skirting boards all over the house
    Making shelves etc.
    Building furniture
    Organising food storage.

    Outdoor building projects:
    Home for chickens
    Root cellar
    Sauna
    Fixing the terrasse

    From May - October there will be action in the garden, cultivating the land and creating a brand new garden. We need help with planting, weeding, harvesting, (cooking and enjoying the food) and finally conserving the harvested goods for the winter.

    Farm projects:
    Plowing, tilling with tractor
    Building raise beds
    Sowing and planting
    Making small greenhouses from old windows
    This list is endless…
    My brother is running the family farm nearby, so we have access to tractors and a nice toolshed!

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    Norwegian: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Our house has two vacant bedrooms for travellers, with queen size beds. There is one bathroom in the house to share.

    My dad who travels a lot also has a beautiful house nearby which also might be vacant.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    You will get to experience the extreme contrasts in weather and seasons.

    In December and January there is no sun in this area of the country, which is a special thing to experience. Even though there is no sun, the light is very unique at this time, and personally we love this time of year. This is also the best time to watch the northern lights, which usually dances on the sky above our house.

    In June and July the sun never sets, and the place we live is where a lot of people come to watch the midnight sun in the summer. We feel very blessed to have the best view of this phenomena from our terrasse.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 548322134689