Help with indoor and outdoor maintenance in the Garrotxa Girona, Spain

Country

Spain

Favourited 280 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    29  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    26/10/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 8 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are an Irish couple living in the Garrotxa, Girona for 11 years. We temporarily came but the beauty and quality of life of the area has convinced us to make a home here. We have 2 young children aged 5 and 7. My partner works full time in IT while I try to manage the running of the property. We have 3 vacational apartments.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Help around the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    While here you are going to live in a place full of culture. Nearby you can see some beautiful medieval towns including Besalu and Girona (public bus or other means necessary). Mountains on our door step and lots of trails for walking in.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    At the moment we are looking for people travelling solely or couples to come and help us. The help is usually general maintenance indoor (painting, varnishing, cleaning) or outdoor tasks (garden etc). We have always little mini projects planned so depending on people's abilities and skills we can decide whether or not to pursue those. So if you have some skills you think could be of use please let us know.

  • Languages spoken

    Catalan: Fluent
    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    This is an old Catalan farmhouse located in Sales de Llierca in the mountains that has been converted into 4 apartments . We live with our 2 young children and rent out the other apartments all year around. We live in one of the apartments in the old farmhouse. However all people coming stay with us will have their own living quarters completely serviced. You can see the pictures of the small house where you will stay. We have just finished work on it and although its a little bit rough and ready around the edges (any plasterer's out there!) it is perfectly suitable for living in (elec, electric hobs, hot water already installed) and wood burning stove soon to be installed.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Since we are pretty busy ourselves with Siobhan working an untypical working day leaving me to work around the house and look after the kids in the evening we hope that anyone staying with us can look after themselves. We will give you an allowance to buy food during your stay which is approximately 45 euros per week. Of course we are always here to help and give advice.

    You can do some lovely walks from the house or visit the local rock pools during the warmer days. We have 2 bikes here that will allow you explore further. If you are over 25 we may be able to loan you a car.

    The nearest village is Tortella and is walkable. If you want to explore further you will have to use public transport. We will drop you by car to the bus if you wish to do this.

    We will also happily take you out on any day trips we do ourselves on the weekends.

    So in short we are looking for somebody who is ok living by themselves or couples who can give each other company.

    We looking forward to hearing from you all!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)



















Host ref number: 546543981886