Plant-based family living in the Algarve, Portugal

Country

Portugal

Favourited 36 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    15/09/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    66.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family that has changed its lifestyle to be pant-based. We have chosen South Portugal, and will be moving from Sweden to Algarve. We have now an old Pine tree plantation directly on the riverbank of Ribeira de Vascäo that we intend to establish a Perma-Culture in and we aim to become close to 100% self-sufficient within the upcoming years. We are also planning to build smaller houses in different traditional and natural building methods, including stone, timber, and COB. We are originally from Iraq, and have been in Scandinavia some 25 years. Check some photos from our place -ask me for our link. We look much forward to getting to know you.

    Currently Mum and the boys are back in Sweden for work / school year, while Dad and Snowy have already started working on the land in Portugal. He is living in Nature with no facilities, very simple tent camping. His diet has been cyclic fasting raw plant-based for the past two years or so, hence it is easier to sustain a simple life in nature. This also means, that our guests must be eager to try to live this (for some might be difficult) lifestyle, and detox their body, mind, and sole while they are with us.

    Your host is an engineer and has worked in major corporations in a global environment for the past 20 years or so.


    See you :-)

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Language practice
    Art Projects
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Well the least will be the equivalent of participating in a plant-based detoxing retreat, as this is how we live every day :-) We have an almost fully raw plant-based diet, and we also practice cyclic fasting here. We will however provide two meals for guests that prefer that.

    Furthermore, you will be close to nature, working your skills up to live an alternative, eco-friendly and low foot-print life. You will learn what it takes to stop the regular day-job and make a happy environment for yourself, your family, and the people you want to share that with off-the-grid (we still have 4G connection in some areas :-) ).
    You will also learn about multiple cultures, as we have both Scandinavian and Middle-Eastern cultural backgrounds.

  • Help

    Help

    There are several projects that need to be initiated, currently we need to do:
    - a land and tree survey, it would great if one of our guests has some knowledge in this area
    - Bush cleaning, where we need to de-root about 1-1.5m high bushes
    - Stone walls building, as the land is all slopes, there used to be some kind of stepped slopes, which we intend to restore/create in some areas
    - Double-Chamber Compost toilette build, as there is only nature to attend to right now, this will most likely commence with the first guests that arrive. It will be a wood/Stone/COB combination of building techniques.
    - Logging trees for land clearance and as construction material
    - Establishing a physical perimeter, where we intend to use wood and plants as fence

  • Languages spoken

    Arabic: Fluent
    Danish: Fluent
    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Tents with mattress, bedding and sleeping bags when cold.
    There will be paid visit to the local public swimming pool twice a week hence also a great opportunity to take a warm shower :-) (subject to Covid-19 restrictions)
    We have a simple open shout area in the land for summer time :)

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Our location is far away from any city, so shopping and grocery will not be something our guests would worry about. We have a lot of hiking trails around the area, and on free-time and if there are 6 or less guests at that time, we offer excursions in our car to sights in Algarve, including beach trip, 4x4 adventures, etc.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Well, we provide WiFi access through mobile data (unlimited data) and in the main area, we have 4G coverage. However this is not a 24/7 as we currently only have the car as the source for 230v outlet, i.e. recharging batteries is limiting a bit :)

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly acccept pets

    Can possibly acccept pets

    This host has said they are willing to accept those travelling with a pet.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Looking at the project from the east (the pine trees)

Host ref number: 544579453697