Help needed with babysitting and chores around the house in Cobble Hill, BC

Country

Canada

Favourited 25 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    11/10/2017

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family of three. Husband and wife with our five year old daughter. We have a 5.25 acre farm in beautiful Cobble Hill BC. We are looking for help with the day to day life here at the farm. We have many different projects to suite all types of abilities and passions. Ranging from but not limited to cooking, Baking, playing, teaching, Gardening, Dog training, building and maintenance. There is 40 apple trees, a small pinot noir vineyard, cherry trees, hazelnut, plum, pear and a large garden. Also when we moved to the farm there were 2 goats, 2 ducks, a peacock and three semi wild cats. We brought 3 dogs and 26 chickens...so lots to do :)
    We are very busy family that are very passionate about food and the planet and look forward to learning together and meeting new friends.

    The Magnusons

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are looking to meet people from all over the world and form relationships. We are new to farming so we encourage discussions and learning over meals together. We welcome all new ideas and suggestions as we find our way with all that comes with growing our own food.

  • Help

    Help

    We can adjust to the skills and passions of different workawayers. Ideally the help would be spread evenly between all the help needed listed below

    Childcare for our 5 year old: general chores, Baking, playing and teaching(art, music or language)

    general maintenence and chores: fixing fences, Painting, Mowing, chopping wood, pressure washing.

    Gardening and permaculture: pruning, mulching, soil planning, harvesting, planting, watering, composting,and native plant development. These are seasonal dependent.

    Animal Care and chores, feeding chickens, Dogs, Goats, Ducks and cats. light animal care, Hoove and nail trimming, bathing, brushing, feather trimming, Dog training(brother and sister border collies 8 months old).

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    a cozy one bedroom cabin with a bathroom and kitchen.
    Meal plan can be arranged in different ways depending on the individual/s needs/wants.
    all meals together in the main house or simple meals provided to cook in the cabin.
    We encourage recipe sharing and eating together but adjust to the days flow.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Vancouver Island is a hot spot for wineries, farms and local food culture.
    For Hikers The famous West Coast Trail, The juan de fuca trail, North Coast Trail and Strathcona Park are all within reach of our farm.
    Also Long beach at Pacific Rim National park for surfing and camping

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 539324852989