Free accommodation and food for 20 hours help with our family / home in sunny Hawke's Bay, NZ!

Country

New Zealand

Favourited 29 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    5  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    19/04/2022

  • Badges

 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a couple (both 38 years old) with a 3 year old boy and a 3 year old English Springer Spaniel, so you must like toddlers and dogs!

    Mikey works part time and Mel works from home full time. We have a family home in the suburbs of Napier that we have been slowly renovating and we're hoping to get some help with this. We are also interested in hearing from you if you'd like to help with dog walking/child care/general house chores. We have both travelled lots and love meeting new people. We would like to make your experience in New Zealand the best it can be, as well as learn about you and your culture/country too!

    We are strictly a no smoking house - this includes outside too. We also require you to be covid vaccinated as our son is at risk and is too young to be vaccinated.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are your typical kiwi family, we have a lovely vege garden and orange tree that makes amazing orange juice. You are welcome to join us on outings, or to come with us when we visit our friends and family. We would hope that you would feel at home with us and able to ask any questions/learn about the kiwi way of life, as well as feel comfortable to go out exploring when you can. We will give you lots of recommendations for great places to visit - not just in Hawkes Bay!

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for an individual or couple to help us with home renovations and general house chores. Renovation duties that can be expected at the moment are mainly painting related (incl. prepping/sanding etc). Depending on the day, if no renovation work is required, we may ask you to walk the dog, do some arts and crafts with our son, garden/mow the lawns, make dinner or do household chores like fold washing.

    We ask that you commit to 20 hours per week in exchange for free accommodation in your own room, and food (please note meals may not always be cooked for you, but will be available for you to make your own meals).

    It is expected that you have your own transportation.

    Our preference for stays is a minimum of a week and maximum of a month.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a spare room within the main house, as well as a room out the back of the garage. It is up to you where you would prefer to sleep, but part of the help required may be to tidy up/renovate the room at the back of the garage, so your flexibility on this would be great! The bathroom and all other amenities are in the main house.

    As mentioned, food will be available for you to cook yourselves, or to join us for meals. We will communicate with you our plans around meals and you can decide if you'll join us or not.

    We are happy to accommodate vegans/vegetarians but please note we do eat meat.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Napier falls within Hawkes Bay, on the East Coast of the North Island and has some of the best weather in New Zealand - you can be guaranteed an awesome summer! There are some amazing beaches about a 30 minute drive from Napier, lots of wineries and great concerts during the summer months. As mentioned, we would expect that you have your own transportation to go out exploring.

    We also have unlimited wifi and lots of space to chill out. We normally have two living areas, but one is being renovated at the moment. We have a lovely deck that gets lots of sun for you to enjoy as well.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)






Host ref number: 538775714917