Help create an environment where our kids can thrive in Sibiu, Romania

Country

Romania

updated  

Favourited 333 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    68  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    20/10/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    1357

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    94.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a small private home for children near Sibiu, Romania. Our place functions more as a large family rather than an institution. We provide an environment where our kids can thrive as they grow up. Our aim is to be the family they never had.

    Currently, our place is staffed two house parents. Moreover, we also host volunteers from time to time, when they are available. Volunteers are such blessing for us, since they are extra love for the kids.

    In addition, we also do outreach in the poor Roma (gypsy) villages in and around Sibiu, Romania. We give them with medical care, food, clothing, firewood, and all sorts of other help to relieve their suffering. I am US doctor by trade and my wife a social worker, so this sort of work fits us quite well. You are welcome to take part in this outreach to the gypsy villages as well.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Charity work

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Sibiu was voted the one of the two cultural capitals of Europe in 2007. The city features a unique blend of Germanic and Romanian influences and has a rich history and culture. We would be happy to show you around the town and even other cities in our free time. Sibiu also sits very near the Carpathian range, providing the opportunity for those who enjoy hiking to explore.

  • Help

    Help

    The volunteer would need to devote their time to...
    -Meeting the children's needs.
    -Assisting in cleaning and maintaining the home.
    -Helping us to provide a loving home.

    We would prefer a volunteer who has a passion for helping needy children, loves kids, and can devote undivided attention and energy to our children. Our main concern is the welfare of our children. The cleaning and other home maintaince is important but the love one can show to our children is most important.

    Please note, our place is more of family enviroment, rather than a traditional work enviroment where one reports to work for specific hours throughout the day. We live and function as a family, including our workawayers. So, we do not give a specific work schedule, perse, but there is a lot of downtime and days of non-work so no one is ever overworked. No one works more than the 25 hours per week according to the workaway policy. In fact, I would say, generally the cumulative weekly work hours are less than this. So we cannot give you a fixed schedule as many other workaway sites might do. You will have plenty of days and time off; we just ask that you work with us (as we will work with you) so we can meet our children's needs most effectively. Our goal is to always make everyone happy, including our workawayers. We strive to ensure our workawayers thoroughly enjoy their time with us in Romania. We will always try to do our best to make each workawayer happy in whatever way we can.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Romanian

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will be given food and and a room to stay in, as well as access to the Internet (wifi throughout the entire place). Sometimes you may share a room with another workawayer or might have the room all to yourself. It just depends on how many workawayers we are hosting at the time.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    As was stated, we will happily show you around and provide you with any other information you need to travel around.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.8)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)














































Host ref number: 538198847265