Do you want to become our English speaking nanny? in Padova, Italy

Country

Italy

updated  

Favourited 86 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    8  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    11/09/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    145

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello, we are a family of six and we live in Padova, a nice city about 30 minutes away from Venice.

    Our children are 12, 9, 4 and 1 yo.
    My husband and I deeply love travelling and getting in contact with different cultures, and we are trying to pass down this passion to our children.
    We registered on workaway because we love cultural exchanges, we would like to get in touch and share experiences with foreing people and we would like our kids to learn English now that they are still so young.
    So we are looking for a (preferably female) volunteer, who could stay and play with them for a couple of hours a day, speaking only English with them - but we would appreciate if our guest understands/speaks some Italian in case of need, since they actually don't speak English so much.

    I am part time employee in an office, my husband is a shift worker in a factory, and this is why our timetable partially changes every week. But generally our nanny is not required to look after the kids more than 3 hours a day.
    We live in an apartment: on the second floor there are a common space with a tv, a single room and a bathroom exclusively available for our guest.
    The neighborood is very quiet, there are some parks and gardens, it is perfect for running, footing or simply walking in peace, but it is also not far from the city center, there's a bus stop about 50 meters from our house, moreover our bikes are available.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Babysitting / child care
    Help in the house
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Padova is a quite big and very nice city, really close to Venice (more or less 30 minutes by train). Both these cities have important historical monuments, churches, squares and places to be visited.
    In the surroundings of Padova there are also Colli Euganei, which are a very quiet and suggestive place, where it is possible to have walks or make excursions, but also to appreciate local food.
    Even Verona, Vicenza, Treviso and Bologna can be easily reached by public means in one hour or less.

  • Help

    Help

    From September 2019 on, we are looking for support with the kids by looking after two of them (the eldest ones) generally from 1.30 to 4pm.
    At 4pm I'm back home with the youngest ones, and it might be nice if the nanny plays with them for a while, but we can define it together in detail.
    This is the schedule most of the times, but we would need you to be a little flexible because my husband shifts change every week, so we might ask you to take care of the kids in a different moment (always no more than 5 hours a day, of course).

    When you take care of them we would like you to speak only English, playing, singing, reading, painting or doing any other funny activity you decide to do.. our goal is to make them practice English during playtime.
    So what we need is a reliable and staid person -that's quite obvious, considering that it deals with our children, but it's always useful to remind it :-) someone who LOVES children, able to take care of them in safety while being a good playfellow and HAVING FUN with them.. above all we want them to feel SAFE AND AT EASE with our guest, sharing clever and stimulant experiences, reveling, enjoying the time spent together.
    Our previous experiences with workawayers taught us we like active and energic people, among all our guests we really felt at ease with those who were able to look after our kids, giving help, but in the meantime were also interested in knowing new friends in town, exploring new places, open to new experiences.
    Lazy people, lying on the sofa all day long, really drive us crazy, we need help with the kids but we really want you to LIVE our town and the experiences you can find here, so please feel free to go outside and explore when we don't need help :-)

    I have to say that we like spending time with our guest, but we are flexible and open minded and we know that private and peaceful moments are important... our apartment is not very large, but the accomodation available for our guests can ensure private spaces both for us and for you.
    We have a lady who cleans our house so we don't need you to do any housework, it's just expected from every family member to cooperate in keeping the house clean and tidy, we help each other in everything, and even the kids are used in collaborating and cleaning after themselves.

    We would appreciate if our guest understands/speaks some Italian because our children actually don't speak English so much, and in case of need it would be better for you to have a plan B for communicating.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Italian

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Sunny and bright single room (single bed, bedside table, wardrobe, desk) and private bathroom on the second floor of our apartment (only the shower is in common with us, on the first floor). There's air conditioning system on both the floors.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The bus stop is very close to our house, you can get to the city center in about 20 minutes by bus or by bike. in the neighborhood there's a very nice pub where you can have a beer, eat something or listen to live music twice a week. Moreover in your spare time you can make some little daytrips in the surroundings, you can visit museums, Churches or simply walk through the town.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

our guest's room
our guest's room
our guest's room
this is me and my family on the top of Etna Volcano last summer





Host ref number: 531413866347