Helping in and around the house, light gardening, painting, animal care in Charente, France

Country

France

Favourited 198 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    5  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    12/07/2020

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    122

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    - Ideal for couples -

    Laid back small-holding in unspoilt rural France close to medieval villages, chateaux and pretty countryside. Ideal for lovers of animals and nature, fans of old architecture and history, situated on famous St Jacques de Compostelle pilgrimage route. We have number of rescue animals that our now safe in our care so a helping hand or two would be great outside and assistance inside the house when the weather's not great.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are located in an area of natural beauty and there is lots of opportunity to visit historic sites, visit local French farmers' markets, ancient villages and places of important cultural heritage. If you would like to improve your English I can help with that too!

  • Help

    Help

    This stay would be ideal for a couple or two friends travelling together. We need help around the property both inside the house and outside basically, day to day maintenance, maybe a bit of painting - absolutely nothing heavy. Some assistance with basic domestic duties inside the house and outside assistance with animals ranging from dog walking to feeding, grooming, cleaning up after them, cuddling. Some basic carpentry skills could be very useful for maintenance of small animal shelters. Above all, we would love to have some friendly, kind people stay who are flexible and happy to go with the flow of the day.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Very comfortable private room in owners' house with your own en-suite bathroom just 4 metres from the salt water pool.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Vegans and Vegetarians are welcome - just please make sure you advise us in advance. There is no local transport. We can collect you from Ruffec (16700) Charente train station or if using co-voiturage such as BlaBla car, at a mutually convenient location where you are dropped off. Locally there is a plenty of opportunity for walking, photography, cycling, running, etc., and, depending on your interest base, we are not far from the cities of Angouleme, Poitiers and numerous tourist locations such as Brantome, Tusson, Perigueux, Oradour sur Glane - there is no shortage of places to visit. If you are into clubs and nightlife then this will not be the stay for you. It could be a chance to catch your breath! We generally have breakfast around 8am and start around 8.30 depending on what we have planned and the weather. If you are not an early riser and prefer to sleep in, again, this will not suit you. Please note, we have pet dogs and they live in the house.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours per day, 5 days a week





Host ref number: 528491825171