Looking for some help landscaping around our home in Nova Scotia, Canada.

Country

Canada

updated  

Favourited 53 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    9  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    09/08/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Super Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are an early-retired couple; Kyle as an Officer from the Canadian Military and Diana as a teacher in Nutrition and French. We enjoy an active, physical lifestyle as well as travelling with purpose. Having raised five children and having moved frequently (nationally/internationally), we do not shy away from work challenges. We work best as a team and can readily adapt to most environments. We have travelled extensively in Europe with children, but are now eager to explore various cultures in depth as a couple. We would love to host a couple, young or old- though young in spirit!-with the landscaping of our newly built (one-year old) cottage, situated on a hill and overlooking a large lake which has 35+ little islands therein. At the end of a work day, we always enjoy a convivial atmosphere over dinner, and then perhaps a canoe paddle or some kayaking before the sun sets. Hope to see you soon!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Jardinage
    Construction
    Entretien / Bricolage
    Aide avec les langues

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We speak English, moderate level of French, some German and Italian; we would love the opportunity to host to mutually benefit from our languages and cultures. Halifax-our capital city of our province-lies within a 35 minute drive from Whispering Point and is home to much Canadian history ( The Titanic, the Halifax Explosion, the Citadel fortress) as well as a lively night life and great eateries. The waterfront boardwalk is the most popular area among tourists; both Kyle and I expect to drive into the city to give our guests a few opportunities during a stay, in order to embrace all that our quaint little city has to offer. It's charming!

  • Help

    Help

    We have details in our landscaping which are left to do: borders for the driveway formed from rock which is bountiful through out the property; tidying up the edging around the 35 stone steps that Kyle laid last summer which lead down to the water; an extra hand to re-organize the natural docking area; should a workawayer arrive with carpentry skills we can use some help in finishing the woodworking in the garage; as well, general weeding is needed. There is no demanding weight lifting to be done but there will be bending over to do the above tasks. We offer you full board as we eat together for our 3 meals daily. We eat predominantly a mediterranean diet but do prepare with animal product ingredients as well.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English,some French, a little German, Italian

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    One private bedroom with one queen-sized bed; an adjacent private full bathroom. There are many private areas around the exterior where one can view the lake, perhaps with a book/cup of coffee/glass of wine in hand.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We would ask that our guests both have medical insurance for coverage while in our midst. We are non-smokers -of any kind- and would ask that both guests bear this in mind when coming to a decision to contact. If our guests do not have their own transportation, we will gladly pick up from the train station or airport and return at the end of their stay. We have done 3 workaways ourselves and for the most part, these were great experiences. We await the opportunity to welcome 2 people travelling together in our new place, as we share our time, talents and experiences together.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week







Host ref number: 525275567445