Interesting organic garden project in East Galway, Ireland

  • Favourited 1074 times
  • Last activity: 25 Jun 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    Currently we are seeking one enthusiastic volunteer to stay for May/June.


    Due to the nature of the project, we are only open to taking volunteers aged 20 plus, thank you.

    Our project revolves around an old period farmhouse surrounded by gardens, fields and planted forests.

    Our goals are:

    • To maintain and improve the house, buildings and gardens around the property
    • To grow organic fruits and vegetables in order to become self sufficient
    • To clear and maintain the forest plantations
    • To create a nice and welcoming community of long/short term volunteers

    Achieving our goals involves a lot of outdoors physical work. It is necessary to be open to work in cold and wet weather. However most of the time it is a pleasure to be outside surrounded by such beautiful nature.

    In case of really bad conditions, we always have some work to do inside (cleaning, organising, painting, fixing etc.).

    We work 5 hours a day, 5 days a week with weekends off. However remaining flexible in these hours is something we ask.

    We are Malcolm and Rachel, your hosts. We don't live here , but one of us calls in almost every day. Malcolm's work is also close by and he often spends time working on projects with the volunteers. You will share the house with up to 4v other Workaways.

    We have three mostly outdoor cats who need feeding and keeping company. You must be a cat lover to volunteer here. We also keep chickens and they also need caring for.

    Accommodation

    You will be living in a late 19th century farmhouse with six private bedrooms and two shared bathrooms. We supply bedlinen and towels.

    There is a communal kitchen (gas stove and Aga oven) where the volunteers prepare and cook meals together to share as a community.

    There is a beautiful conservatory to relax and enjoy serenity while the sun shines.
    There is also a nice cosy sitting room with a stove where you can chill, read, play music or watch movies.

    The location is rural and the nearest town is 10 min away by car, so you must enjoy being in the countryside to volunteer for us. It is possible to get a bus to Galway or other nearby cities from the nearest town, Loughrea. We have a few bikes available for you to borrow.

    In short

    We are looking forward to meeting countryside loving, energetic and outdoorsy people who want to spend time in a quiet and relaxing place while working on interesting sustainable projects.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are very open and happy to share/exchange about our culture, our experience, our interests, and our knowledge with our visitors.

  • Help

    Help

    You don’t need any particular type of skill to work with us. What we expect is positivity and a willing mindset in order to get the work done. We are keen to share our knowledge as well as learn from yours. Having experience in gardening, forestry or building is of course most welcome.

    We will be working Monday to Friday from approximately 8h30 to 14h30 with a one-hour lunch break. Although this can vary depending on circumstances and weather. We supply the food for you to cook your own meals during your stay.

    Your reward is to contribute to very interesting sustainable eco project, amongst some beautiful surroundings while in the company of like-minded and interesting people.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Own room in a private house. Shared bathroom.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    County Galway is a culturally rich county with beautiful views and the most wonderful landscape. It is an amazing place with unique opportunities. If you are skilled, adventurous, outdoorsy, and enthusiastic you will be really happy you applied for this opportunity.
    As the weather in Ireland is changeable all year round and often times wet, it is necessary to enjoy being out in the elements and to own some wet gear and foot wear. We can lend wellington boots and overalls if needed.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours per day (25hours/week)

Host ref number: 524772947854

Feedback (44)



Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.9)

Communication: (5.0)




























































Experience homestead living and help us mind our little girl Elsa in Rossnaree, Ireland
Animal lover to help me with running busy household near Cork, Ireland