Looking for help with designing, refurbishing, and building stuff on our little “compound” in Auburn, California.

Country

United States

Favourited 40 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    19/09/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are looking for help with designing, refurbishing, and building stuff on our little “compound” in Auburn, California. We have a house, an art studio, and a vintage camper; and we have plans to rebuild two decks, tear down an old shed, build out a new studio, put in a garden, move and plant trees, re-roof existing structures, replace flooring, build a tree house. Projects! The goal is to be and build a little community that makes efficient use of an acre and a half so it’s welcoming, self-sustaining, and producing a surplus that can be pushed into social justice causes.

    I’m a dedicated do-it-yourselfer but I love to have fresh energy, ideas, and help with projects. Skills are great too but I’m happy to teach what I know, hash it out on paper with another creative soul, and learn the rest from YouTube. If there’s something from this list that you want to learn and bring to life, come and stay and eat for free in exchange for 4-5 hours per day, 4 days per week. We’re open to short and long stays and couples are welcome.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We greatly value diversity and inclusion and because we are a lesbian couple, we are an especially safe and welcoming home to LGBTQ Workawayers. We live with dogs and cats, and friends come around often for happy hour and cookouts by the fire. This is a great place to hone your English skills and talk philosophy, but you’ll also have your own space and time to explore and just be.

  • Help

    Help

    I’d like to structure your stay around a particular project (or two) that you’re interested in. Send me a message about your skills and/or interests and we’ll go from there.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Our property is rural but super-close to town. We have a small vintage camper that sits away from the house next to a seasonal pond. It has a comfortable bed, a table, sink, microwave, refrigerator, toaster, butane stove, coffee maker, and lots of cabinet space for personal stuff. Behind the camper is a basic composting toilet and outdoor shower (propane-heated). All of this area will be your private personal space. The house is open to you as well—this is where the wifi and television are, as well as a full kitchen for communal cooking and eating.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Our location is ideal for runners and hikers, and you’ll have access to all sorts of outdoor recreation. We are only a couple miles from the Auburn State Recreation Area and the American River Canyon. We are also very close to Old Town Auburn where you’ll find restaurants, bars, coffee/kombucha places, shops, museums, yoga, etc. If you don’t have a vehicle, these are an easy walk or bike ride away.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 4 days a week


Host ref number: 523989642713