Explore East Vancouver and be part of the life of a vibrant 7 month old in Vancouver, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 29 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    03/02/2021

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi! I am Malahat and I live with my boyfriend Moe in beautiful Vancouver BC. We are both originally Iranian, but have been living in Canada long enough and we are both citizens. Over the years we have had many international students live with us and we all have enjoyed the exchange.

    I am a designer by profession and I design the interface of software and websites. Moe is a supervisor in a company. I am more artsy and interested in psychology and social sciences and Moe is more into sports and volunteering. We have both travelled the world and love learning about new cultures and making connections.


    We live in a 4 bedroom house in East Vancouver. Our house has sweet old architecture, is nicely decorated and has a garden. It is located in a beautiful quite neighborhood close to two parks (check Trout lake on google). We also have fluffy cat living with us. We are very close to a sky train station and that train can take you anywhere you want. In 5 minutes bus or train ride ( or 20min bike ride), you can get to one of the most hip areas of Vancouver, commercial drive. Commercial drive, also known as little Italy bustles with restaurants, cafes, boutique and little shops. It has a diverse population and is venue to music and theatre events. Another 15 minute train ride and you are at downtown Vancouver. From there you can go to Stanley park or the seawall and be beside the ocean. You will love our place for it's style and convenient location.

    We have a 7 month old by the time that you will be joining us. I am on Maternity leave but also will be starting my practicum to be a counseling psychologist. That takes me away from the baby in 3-4 hour chunks. And that's where I need help. I forsee in May and June, I will be working online, so I will be somewhere close by. In July and August , Moe will be on Paternity leave so he will be around then too... With us being around, you can rest assured someone is there to help and change the nappies. You will probably have to take care of waking baby, feeding her, playing with her and putting her to sleep. We hope you will stay with us for at least 2 months, but we may be open with shorter if you have experience with infants. feel free to ask me anything . Looking forward to chatting!

    *Covid stuff details:
    Because Moe is in high risk category and we have an infant we need to be super cautious. So we are looking for someone who is vaccinated by the time they join while they are still super cautious.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We can share with you our knowledge and experience of Canadian culture, and their norms and nuances. I can guide you to cultural venues and events if you are interested in the arts. We also have Canadian friends that you will see and interact with during your stay.

  • Help

    Help

    I mostly need help with infant minding in 2-3 hour intervals in May and June up to 15-17 hrs a week. Can pay cash if more was needed.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Persian (Farsi): Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have a room with a nice window looking to the backyard. Your room has a big closet and hardwood floors. Your room will be on the ground floor. We can provide you with a bike and pay your bus card.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We can discuss this when we speak and I can answer your questions.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Can provide a desk in your room, and we have a decent wifi.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    1 cat

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4 hours a day, 3-4 days a week


Host ref number: 523619739631