Experience farm life in the heart of Norway!

Country

Norway

Favourited 164 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    8  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    16/09/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    674

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 5 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Babysitter (preferably french speaking) needed from end of August!

    We are Frøydis (35) and Louis (31), a french/norwegian couple who resently bought a farm in the Trondheim area, Norway. We have goats, pigs, dogs and cats. Initially the projects that we wanted to start with were: sledding trips for tourists in the winter, and in the rest of the year make goat cheese (starting spring of 2018) and organize farm visits for groups, families or birthdayparties for children. However we have decided to take more time for the goats and the building, and find homes for our dogs elsewhere.
    The farm has not been too well maintained the last years, and we are therefor working with all the different tasks required to make it nice and functional. For now there is much physical work to be done outside, besides washing cheese equipment, as well as some smaller jobs inside the house.

    In August 2016 we were blessed with a little girl, Maria-Sofia, and in June 2018 the little sister Elisabeth was born. Together we would like to create a good and welcoming place for people looking for work, a place to stay or just to visite :-)

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are speaking norwegian, english, french and german. The daily life is consisting of work at the farm, with the possibility to learn all kinds of things concerning that.
    We are also a catholic family, and on a weekly basis we go to mass in the beautiful new Catholic cathedral in Trondheim or visit the monastries of Tautra and Munkeby. If you are not christian you are still very welcome to stay with us!
    Trondheim is a rich town when it comes to history and culture, and we can make arrangements for cheep tickets to concerts with the Trondheim Symphonic orhestra, as Frøydis has her permanent job there. In general we are a music loving family, who loves to sing and play music together. You can also learn about Norwegian food culture and handicrafts. At last we have a wooden sailing boat, so when the renovation is done it might be possible to come for sailing trips on the Trondheim fjord (at the moment this is not a priority though...).

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for experienced, hard working people to help with refitting the farm, animal care, general housekeeping and babysitting of our daughtes.

    Normally we ask of our workawayers to work Monday to Friday with the weekends off.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Norwegian, english, french, german

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a big house, with two big guest rooms, and in the future we'll also have a guest house. We share meals, but it's possible to make agreements about selfservice for certain meals.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is a bus going to Trondheim from our place. There are also other possibilities to get around, like to take the train or bus from the airport area.
    There are many historical sites to visit in the area, as well as the Selbu lake, the National park of Skarvan and Roltdalen, Stiklestad or Røros (which is on the unesco world heritage list).
    Possibilities to try dog sledding, walk in the mountains, camping etc. Trondheim is also a reputated pilgrim place with many possibilities to walk on the numerous paths towards the Nidaros cathedral and pilgrim center.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Soaps made with goat milk.
Cheese soon ready to be put in the moulds.
Our goats are a mix between norwegian white milking goat and alpine goat, and they were born this year. They are very friendly, and will come running if you call for them :-)
This is us a couple of years ago when we lived in a cabin in the forest close to Trondheim, off grid! We had a very good time in our little forest den. However we are very content to have found the farm we have been dreaming about for years! Still we like to live a quite simple and frugal lifestyle.
This spring we had some reindeers passing by every few days! Our area is in general rich in wild life.
In the late autumn of 2011 Louis came up the norwegian coast in this boat. It is on land at the moment to be refitted and painted, and hopefully it will soon be sailing again.
The first ploughing after we took over the farm! Our tractor is a 1956 McCormic International!







Host ref number: 523499385158