Help a Scottish guy with renovation work in a traditional village - 1 hour from Veliko Tarnovo

Country

Bulgaria

Favourited 14 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    26/07/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    245

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello, Здравейте, Namaste, Salaam, Shalom!


    My home is situated in a village close to Veliko Tarnovo (approx. 1 hour by car/bus) - the ancient capital of Bulgaria. The surrounding area is lush countryside with rolling hills and enchanting forests. I've been doing renovation work on the house for a couple of years now and I am hoping to bring the place into the 21st century whilst maintaining the charm of the old style. The vast majority of the work is decorative rather than structural so the work is enjoyable and rewarding. This summer I hope to start work on the garden, the aim is to build a small pond and to start dividing the land into a more manageable state.

    TRANSPORT:
    There is a bus to and from Veliko Tarnovo twice a day where you can find all the luxuries of a European city with plenty of entertainment and culture. The bus to Veliko Tarnovo takes 1 hour.

    There are also buses twice a day to Poslki Trambesh where you can find bars, cafes and a weekly market. There is also a great outdoor swimming pool in the summer. The bus to Polski Trambesh takes 30 mins.

    From Veliko Tarnovo you can find buses and trains to/from Sofia, Bucharest, Varna and Istanbul!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Volunteers can enjoy working in a tranquil, traditional village in a beautiful part of Bulgaria and get to know what rural life is like. The area is also home to many immigrants from other countries too, so there's always an opportunity to meet some different folk.

    During your time off you can explore the countryside or check out places like Veliko Tarnovo and Ruse. The near-by towns also have an array of shops, restaurants, museums and various cultural activities.

  • Help

    Help

    I am looking for someone who is enthusiastic, easy-going and enjoys rural life.

    The work required is mostly decorating rooms as well helping out with some garden work, some help with cooking and cleaning would also be appreciated.

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    I am also looking for people to 'house-sit' in Spring and Autumn, if you're interested in this I'm open to discuss how we can arrange this.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have your own spacious room with a view of the garden and private entrance.

    Vegetarian meals will be provided.

    PLEASE NOTE: I only have an outdoor toilet at the moment, but i do have an indoor shower with hot water.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    I have been working and travelling around Asia and Eastern Europe for the past few years and understand the WorkAway experience well. I have great respect for volunteers and enjoy hosting people from all over the world.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4 hours a day, 5 days a week

Veliko Tarnovo
Veliko Tarnovo

Host ref number: 522618469463