Help our traditional from Transylvanian family with clay houses in Sălaj, Romania

Country

Romania

Favourited 6 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    23/03/2020

 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a very traditional family from Transylvania ( myself 29 year old, my parents and my grandma) living in a small town called Simleu Silvaniei, surrounded by forest. In a nearby village where my grandma lives we have a beautiful household with a great veggie garden. My parents are working everyday to maintain it nicely.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    Help with Eco Projects

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    The location and the villages around and forest would take anyones hearts. There’s so many things to be seen and to learn here. My father is going to the forest to bring wood, he’s also brewing traditional plums schnapps/liquor. That’s something cool to see and learn, he’s also making his own wine every year. He’s also a tree grafting special if you want to learn about that.
    Oh and my mom is such a great cook, and she’s making nice local pastry.

  • Help

    Help

    Our biggest hope is to save from irremediable decay a small 2 rooms, clay house built on wood pillars that is more than 100 years old. We are trying to restore it. But we are lacking builders that still have the knowledge to work with local materials and clay.
    We do understand the cultural value of such a house especially in these times when no one is keeping the old clay houses and the architectural landscape of the Transylvanian village is rapidly changing.. beautiful traditional houses are being replaced by “polyester boxes”
    In our household there’s always something to do, and it’s always exciting:)) working in the garden, or picking fruits, there’s always something to do around depending on the season.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a 3 rooms apartment in the city of Simleu silvaniei, where we could offer a room. Another option would be to stay in the village at the house where my grandma lives. Depending on the season and on preferences.
    My mom is cooking delicious food, she’s always taking care of that, and eating together is the easiest for the guest as well.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    nice and open friend around that enjoy staying out near the forest, making a fire and just enjoying life. The zone has healing thermal waters The city of Cluj is very close and offers all the opportunities of a bigger city. Here there’s also lake where we like to go fishing. My biggest pleasure here is to enjoy nature and walks in the forest picking mushrooms, and to eat everything from the garden, and we have so many fruits and vegetables depending on the season.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    We are looking forward for suggestions

Host ref number: 522525295657