Come and help around the shelter & rehab centre for cats and dogs in Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia

Country

Malaysia

Favourited 128 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    11/09/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    370

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi, my name is Anna Lynn and I am the founder of the shelter & rehab centre for cats and dogs. I am an independent animal rescuer and have been in animal welfare since 2010.

    There are currently 85 rescued cats and 8 dogs with special needs. I am looking for volunteers who are compasionate about animals to come and help me out at the shelter. Your job will be cleaning, bathing the cats and dogs, maintence and medical care. You will work 4-5 hours a day, with meal breaks in between.

    The minimum stay is 5 days (5 work day + 2 off days). On your day off, if time permits ( & cost -sharing) I can bring you to places of interest in/around Kota Kinabalu. If you prefer spending your day off on your own, you are free to roam the beautiful city of Kota Kinabalu and explore the unique cultures offered by the multi ethnicity of Malaysia.

    For now, since the house-occupants is a lady. I can only host Female workawayers. And there is a no-alcohol & no-smoking policy at this home (indoor AND outdoor)


    I seek volunteers who meet these criteria:
    - female
    - must love animals
    - have experience working with animals (i.e at a shelter)
    - non-smoker
    - loves cleanliness and tidiness

    If you are interested and have questions about voluneering here, please drop me a message.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Animal care
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    accommodation will be provided and they could cook in the house. they will learn about animal welfare as well as the culture of the people here

  • Help

    Help

    help required to be done at our property:
    - walking the dogs,
    -bathing the animals
    - some work on the internet with publicity
    - Gardening (if you are good at landscaping, that would be good)
    - Painting (subject to weather )
    - General cleaning
    - General maintenance

    Criteria:
    - Minimum 1 week
    - Minimum 4 hours' work/day


    In return for your work, you will:
    - Get to visit nearby places of attraction on non-busy days
    - Eat with us every meal or you may cook on your own. It will be challenging for vegans because fruits and ingredients are not easily available, and we urge vegans to consider thoroughly before contacting to work with us


    Ready to contact us? In your email, you must inform us:

    (a) If you have any dietary requirements (e.g. vegetarian, no dairy)
    (b) If you have any food allergies
    (c) The estimated date of arrival
    (d) The duration of your stay

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    english, malay

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    a homestay
    Volunteers will stay in our guest room .You must make sure that you tidy your room before you go out and not leave your clothes scattered on the floor.

    You are allowed to cook your own food with the availability of what is provided in the kitchen, and must abide by my kitchen rules, one of which is only Halal food allowed. It's a relatively quiet house, with 12 cats staying in the house therefore if you are a party person and mind cats in the house, this place is definitely not for you.

    For now, since the house-occupants is a lady. I can only host Female workawayers. And there is a no-alcohol & no-smoking policy at this home (indoor AND outdoor)

    If you are the gastronomically adventurous traveler, there are restaurants and coffee shops within walking distance from here. They serve a variety of Malaysian food. If you prefer doing your laundry at a shop. there are also laundry service in walking distance if you want to get your laundry cleaned and washed.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    They will learn about the local culture, traditional food/beverage and traditional games. We will share a little bit of Malaysian history and they will understand the formation of Malaysia to correct the perception that West Malaysia is "mainland Malaysia".

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 521918352373